1969 X11 RS/SS350 Period Correct, Potentially Numbers Matching - Team Camaro Tech
What's it worth? & ebay discussions

18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 54 (permalink) Old Jan 10th, 17, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
CDB
Gold Lifetime Member
Clifton

Garage
1969 X11 RS/SS350 Period Correct, Potentially Numbers Matching

I'm looking at buying a 1969 Camaro X11. Current owner is the second owner, has no documentation. It's been sitting in a garage for twenty years now. Current owner has had it since 1978, and the prior owner passed away recently.

I went to visit it last weekend. The car didn't have a battery so we couldn't get it running. I'm going to visit again in a couple weeks with a battery and a mechanic to help with an estimate on the engine. He says the engine will run but it's going to be rough and smoke. The carburetor needs work (I'm assuming more than that as well). I was an amateur and struggling finding the partial vins on the engine and transmission. I'll look again for the partial vin on the engine, but I'm pretty sure the partial vin for the transmission is on top and not accessible for us at the moment. I have no reason to not believe the guy that it is all original, but he admits there's a 9 year gap that he can't account for.

Engine code: T0930HA
Axle: BS0929G1 E
Transmission: P9R02A
Date from trim tag: 10C

It had two fuel lines, 28 coils for the hood, the exhaust plate on driver side rear, correct amount of bulbs, front disc breaks, power steering, and everything else I checked for matched it being the SS350 L48.

Thinks not shown in pictures:
* Trunk pan needs to be replaced
* Brakes need to be redone
* Engine is going to need work.
* Missing front/rear bumpers
* Small dent on both rear panels where bondo was used.
* Rust seems minimal but I'm an amateur. If the trunk is severally rusted and has holes in it, how serious of rust can I expect throughout? The car has been garaged almost for its entire life.