Help!!! [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: Help!!!


r4thz28
Feb 17th, 07, 01:18 PM
I'm currently invloved in a deal with another member for an ad that recently posted not too long ago, and the seller has a 67 SS 396 cherry condition, the ad has since dissapeared and the seller has told me the car is in the UK and wants $3,000 prior to shipping the car then after recieving the car another $3,000. A 67 SS in cherry condition for only 6K? Am I getting scammed? Is there any way to make sure it isn't a scam?

big mike
Feb 17th, 07, 01:34 PM
Big scam. Don't walk, run from this deal. Don't send this scumbag a nickel. I believe the ad was pulled by the Mods to protect our less informed members. I hope you didn't send this POS any money! Good Luck. Mike:beers: :beers:

JimM
Feb 17th, 07, 02:05 PM
scam

Blade
Feb 17th, 07, 02:11 PM
Wait this person is selling the car is a member of TC?

wiskeesour
Feb 17th, 07, 04:42 PM
Wait this person is selling the car is a member of TC?

Thats what I got out of it. If its true this WHOLE FORUM is in trouble.

:noway:

Al
Feb 17th, 07, 05:16 PM
Total Scam
http://www.camaros.net/classifieds/scamalert.html

I'll bet you will see a similar email posted there. The ad was removed asap.

Not a member

Lost in the 60's
Feb 17th, 07, 05:16 PM
I believe the ad was in the free classifieds and I don't think you need to be a member to place ad there...? Bonzo Hanson was stringing the scammer along a week or so ago too......it was kinda fun for a few days..:D

dreamweaver
Feb 18th, 07, 12:46 AM
It's almost the exact same scam that I called on 2 days ago:

http://sfbay.listpic.com/eby/car/279857523.html

It was a Craigslist ad. The posting was flagged my the CL community, but I saved the info. I decided to see what would happen, all along I knew it was a scam:

I sent the seller an email
He could hardly speak English (sounded East Asian / Pkastani )
When it got down to it, I couldn't go see the car because it was in Europe
When I asked where in Europe, he said it was in the UK

He said he was selling it so cheap because people over in Europe don't like these cars ( I was unaware of that :) ) and if I gave him $3000 upfront he would ship the car and I could pay the balance when it arrives.

Maybe there should be a charge to anyone who wants to advertise on the free classifieds if they are not a member... that way the Admins can at least have some information on people if they try to scam. It might also deter the scum.