400 Crank in a 305 Block? [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: 400 Crank in a 305 Block?


GCHARGER73
Oct 1st, 07, 10:49 AM
just like the title says. I was asked today if you could put a crankshaft out of a 400 small block into a 305 small block, and if so, what would that make? i know a 400 crank in a 350 is a 383, and a 350 crank in a 305 is a 327. but my questions is can you put a 400 crank in a 305?

onovakind67
Oct 1st, 07, 11:12 AM
i know a 400 crank in a 350 is a 383, and a 350 crank in a 305 is a 327

A 350 crank in a 305 is a 305. A 400 crank in a 305 would be a 329.

ldrisner
Oct 1st, 07, 03:07 PM
It would be AFTER the main journals are turn down to the medium journal size.

onovakind67
Oct 1st, 07, 03:11 PM
It would be AFTER the main journals are turn down to the medium journal size.

You'd also want to use some pistons and rods. The crank by itself doesn't create displacement.

Larger Dave
Oct 1st, 07, 03:33 PM
Turned down crank and a set of custom pistons to get a 329 makes for a real expensive 327. If you really want a 329 Pontiac made one you could find for a lot less money.

Larger Dave

sspecialk
Oct 1st, 07, 03:45 PM
Why would you want to do this in the first place.

novaderrik
Oct 1st, 07, 04:01 PM
Why would you want to do this in the first place.
for the same reason all those Mustang guys build 347's instead of just putting in a 351W.
if you've got a 400 crank, get yourself a 350 block and build a 383, or a 400 block and build a 400. they all bolt in and look the same.

pdq67
Oct 1st, 07, 04:52 PM
334" w/ .030" over pistons if I remember right??

Nice little torque motor, but right, why when there are so many 350's come 383's still out there...

As for the Indian! The 1st year 326" Pontiac was really a 336" engine and then GM made it 326" engine the next year!!

pdq67

sspecialk
Oct 1st, 07, 06:35 PM
I understand the concept of stroking a motor but a 400 crank in a 305. Why not get some combination that is tried and true. Let someone else do all the experimenting and you reap the benefits. Strokin to 421 or 434 now that is the deal.

Of course a nice well thought out 350 works well to.

77wolf10.85
Oct 1st, 07, 07:32 PM
You'd also want to use some pistons and rods. The crank by itself doesn't create displacement.

LMAO

Mike, roadblock, I remember you. You have a 400.
It is 4.125 bore and 3.75 stroke if it is stock.

A 350 is 4"bore and 3.48 stroke

305 is 3 3/4 bore and like onovakind told you 3.48 stroke

327 is 4 by 3 1/4
302 is 4 by 3
307 is 3 7/8 by 3 1/4
283 is 3 7/8 by 3

You can see there are definite bore and stroke groupings
and the 305 has the smallest bore of any of them and it is all alone in it's bore range. The only thing it has in common with any of the other groupings is the 350 crank. Of course the 400 has nothing in common with any of the others. But it has cubes.

A 400 crank in a 305 block is a waste of a good crank, whether you had the money to make it work or not. But yes you COULD MAKE IT GO. It's not smart money though. Dumber things have been done successfully?


Edit: all the chevy bores/strokes are on mortec.com. I got the 305 wrong it is 3.736 bore, unlike the 265 which is 3 3/4

GCHARGER73
Oct 1st, 07, 07:34 PM
i think im gonna throw a 350 in my car for now while i pull the 400 and build a 406ci street/strip motor

pdq67
Oct 2nd, 07, 05:03 PM
No, the 267" motor does at 3.5" b x 3.48" s = 267"..

pdq67

PS., a 305 has a 3.735" bore!!