View Full Version : 69z


markspark
Jan 19th, 09, 12:37 PM
Anybody know the story on this car?
Ballpark anybody?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1969-RALLY-SPORT-Z-28-s-MATCHING-X33-DOCUMENTED_W0QQitemZ140295397249QQihZ004QQcategory Z6161QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Spirit1
Jan 19th, 09, 12:44 PM
Anybody know the story on this car?
Ballpark anybody?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1969-RALLY-SPORT-Z-28-s-MATCHING-X33-DOCUMENTED_W0QQitemZ140295397249QQihZ004QQcategory Z6161QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


The is the second car i have seen that person advertise with an empty engine block. Something does not seem right?

markspark
Jan 19th, 09, 12:49 PM
The engine is in the car, but aparrantly needs to be rebuilt?

RSSSfanatic
Jan 19th, 09, 03:16 PM
Why go to all the trouble detailing it out if you are not going to make it run? Seems strange.

rebeljld
Jan 19th, 09, 03:45 PM
Comfort weave seat's W/ standard door panal's ??? :confused:

Z282NV
Jan 19th, 09, 04:54 PM
Yah...what does this mean, and I quote

"The original DZ 302 engine is in place and looks just as pictured. The engine will need to be rebuilt as it is in non running condition. All numbers and dates are in place and correct. This camaro retains the original muncie 4 speed and 12 bolt rear axle. The original engine was never hurt and was disassembled for inspection. It will need to be finished. Many of the rare original parts are included to complete it. Including the original forged #1178 crankshaft, rods and correct size forged pistons. The engine is in place as pictured,and the car is ready to ship with ease."

You mean to tell me he took the engine apart and inspected it, says it needs a rebuild (does not mention WTF is wrong with it) and then puts it all back together again for the pictures? Now if that is not screwy what is?

yellow69RS
Jan 19th, 09, 08:07 PM
Comfort weave seat's W/ standard door panal's ??? :confused:
I hear that! What box do ya check on the order blank to get the deluxe seats from a vert in a coupe with a standard dash and door panels?
For a car that don't run it sure got pushed around alot in them pics.

Jeff

JeffD
Jan 19th, 09, 08:24 PM
On top of everything else, I think that's a fake trim tag. The photo is pretty vague, but it doesn't look good to me.
-Jeff

RamAirDave
Jan 19th, 09, 08:42 PM
Car is coded as std. interior, so it's the seat covers that are incorrect.

This is a very odd car/listing. Crank, rods, pistons are "included". Does that mean it's an empty block? :confused:

yellow69RS
Jan 19th, 09, 09:05 PM
Car is coded as std. interior, so it's the seat covers that are incorrect.
What makes it have rear arm rest if not a fold down seat?

This is a very odd car/listing. Crank, rods, pistons are "included". Does that mean it's an empty block? :confused: Moves around a lot for a car that don't run.
Jeff

69z28freak
Jan 19th, 09, 09:06 PM
Wow! I smell a rat. Interior is definitly funky. Dash pad looks way wierd. I am wondering how much of the car is actually functioning. Weirdest for sale post for a 69 Z28 I have seen to date???

RamAirDave
Jan 19th, 09, 09:12 PM
What makes it have rear arm rest if not a fold down seat?

They look like fold down seat side panels to me. Maybe it's a fold down seat and he doesnt know, there's no mention in the ad.

markspark
Jan 20th, 09, 06:51 AM
Sounds like a car to stay away from from the feedback Im reading. He emailed me back that the vin is located on the block by the oil filter.

NHBandit
Jan 20th, 09, 07:13 AM
That is the correct location for a 69. I'd want to see closeups of ALL the numbers before even considering it. If it's legit it's not a bad price even with the issues it has. It wouldn't be the first real Z that's been restored by someone who didn't know what they were doing. That dosn't make it a bad car, just a project.

markspark
Jan 20th, 09, 07:32 AM
I think its worth watching, I checked the guys ebay profile and he buys alot of Z28 parts so It could very well be pieced together.

x77orig
Jan 21st, 09, 07:23 AM
I agree with all, it sounds funny, But it looks to me like the seat covers were made at a shop, they look like solid vynal not comfort weav, prob. done when he bought those authentic tires

al8apexer
Jan 21st, 09, 09:29 AM
They look like fold down seat side panels to me. Maybe it's a fold down seat and he doesnt know, there's no mention in the ad.

or it is the rear seat from a Firebird, they were narrower ...

markspark
Jan 21st, 09, 04:38 PM
So does anybody want to stick there neck out and guess a price? Just assume the paper work checks out and its the born with drivetrasin.

skipdaddie
Jan 21st, 09, 04:43 PM
Looks like a good project to me. No paint or body work needed. I think it will sell for 31K.

markspark
Jan 21st, 09, 04:51 PM
Thanks skip, I think that would be top dollar. If the car is what he claims its worth that at least. Why would anybody restore a car and not rebuild the motor?

chops
Jan 21st, 09, 08:14 PM
Maybe he just wanted a true trailer queen, no power needed.

rszmjt
Jan 21st, 09, 08:54 PM
Its Kinda weird that someone would take it apart and just reassemble it with no internals. FWIW - It has the wrong smog tubes/alt/alt brkt, and also is missing the headlite washer solenoid/wires/hardware if indeed it is a REAL RS. I would like to see a close up of the Documentation/cowl tag, and also underneath pictures of the trans/shifter/diff etc.

myyenco
Jan 21st, 09, 09:41 PM
All that 40 year old paperwork looks very clean........

But what would prevent me from doing business with this seller is some of the legal ease in his ad (see below). Any one of these would give me reason to look elsewhere but all together NO WAY ! It's like he knows he is misrepresenting the car and expecting legal action to be taken.


"The seller shall not be responsible for the correct description, or defects herein, and makes no warranty in connection therewith."
"Seller assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle."
"Any descriptions or representations are for identification purposes only and are not to be construed as a warranty of any type."
"All legal proceadings related to this auction are within the juristiction of the state of Ohio ,city of Geneva ,county of Ashtabula."

markspark
Jan 22nd, 09, 08:42 AM
I asked him to send me close ups of the documentation, he saif he didnt want scammers looking at it. I think its a fraud.

Hylton
Jan 24th, 09, 09:32 AM
All that 40 year old paperwork looks very clean........


That original bill of sale defies the laws of oxidation - that's the whitest 40 year old document I've ever seen. :D

JeffD
Jan 24th, 09, 10:04 AM
Here (hopefully) is a link to an image of the trim tag:

http://s404.photobucket.com/albums/pp124/BucketBrowser/?action=view&current=tagToPost.jpg

I got that image from the auction and I enlarged it in Photoshop. I'm confident that we're looking at a fake trim tag there - one of the newer ones that became available in the last year or so. However, I'd give the forger an A+ on the ooze inside the rivets. Other opinions?

shaugs
Jan 24th, 09, 12:15 PM
Here (hopefully) is a link to an image of the trim tag:

http://s404.photobucket.com/albums/pp124/BucketBrowser/?action=view&current=tagToPost.jpg

I got that image from the auction and I enlarged it in Photoshop. I'm confident that we're looking at a fake trim tag there - one of the newer ones that became available in the last year or so. However, I'd give the forger an A+ on the ooze inside the rivets. Other opinions?

Ditto...

alanrw
Jan 24th, 09, 12:40 PM
He says he has the POP. Doesn't that have a series of numbers which define the options on the car? (assuming the POP is genuine).

alan

ldrisner
Jan 24th, 09, 12:55 PM
This says it all for me:

"Vintage BF Goodrich belted T/A tires (not reproduction, look like new)"


Vintage?

This Guy is a hustling Scumbag and does not deserve the time of day.