: Anyone Know This Car?
zdld17 Jan 27th, 09, 12:24 PM http://picasaweb.google.com/michael.baxter45/1969ChevyCamaroZ28?authkey=qGtPcYCel_s&pli=1#
969 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 Two-Door Coupe that has been freshly restored, desirable 10 10 Code (Black on Black), all original sheetmetal on this TEXAS example, and the rest of the numbers that an informed Z28 buyer would look for. Almost everything rebuilt, replaced or restored.
Engine pad: V0407DZ
Engine Casting #: 3956618 (Higher Nickel Content, early prduction #)
Casting Date: D-1-9 (April 1st, 1969)
Distributor #: 1111480
Alternator#: 837
Intake #: 472
Transmission: M21 (Muncie)
Tranny Casting Number: 3925660, P9D10B
Rear end Ratio: 4:10
Rear end Casting #: BV0303G1
This was emailed to me, sounds like the guy was transferred to my old home town. I am checking to see if its still around. I am about 800 miles from this car if its down in Texas.
click Jan 27th, 09, 01:12 PM Don do I sense a road trip there? :D take plenty of those spicey brats along :)
zdld17 Jan 27th, 09, 01:20 PM Don do I sense a road trip there? :D take plenty of those spicey brats along :)
I wish there was a road trip in my future. Getting mighty lonely out here but roads are iced up today.
Keeping eye on TC committee on this.
JeffD Jan 27th, 09, 01:21 PM Don,
That car was listed on eBay a couple times in 2008, and it has been popping up for sale in different places recently.
Here is some discussion about that car from last October:
http://www.camaros.net/forums/showthread.php?t=143536
zdld17 Jan 27th, 09, 03:05 PM Don,
That car was listed on eBay a couple times in 2008, and it has been popping up for sale in different places recently.
Here is some discussion about that car from last October:
http://www.camaros.net/forums/showthread.php?t=143536
Thanks for the link, I got a message back from the guy, gave me the vin, 632049. What bugs me is , why is the ad listed in my home town local news paper, deep south Texas . Car is supposed to be in Minn. Still a good looking car, a quick trip would tell more. Yes, even these photos show frost green around the under edges of the trunk opening. Price is unreal, 20k includes shipping? Maybe he knows I own a Frost Green car.
clill Jan 27th, 09, 03:16 PM Why is there no pic of the engine pad stamp ?
txturbo Jan 27th, 09, 04:53 PM If the ad doesn't list a phone number and the price seems to cheap....its probably a scam. That sounds just like the scammers ads on Craigslist.
ChevyThunder Jan 27th, 09, 09:39 PM Tag looks fake to me .. a good one but a fake . Anyone second the nomination?
Also... I have never seen a gearbox stamped in that location.. not sure that means it is wrong but does anyone have any feedback on that ?
RamAirDave Jan 27th, 09, 09:48 PM Tag looks fake to me .. a good one but a fake . Anyone second the nomination?
Yeah. One of the more recent repos, but you can still tell. Mark voted repo in the earlier thread.
What bugs me is , why is the ad listed in my home town local news paper, deep south Texas . Car is supposed to be in Minn. Still a good looking car, a quick trip would tell more. Yes, even these photos show frost green around the under edges of the trunk opening. Price is unreal, 20k includes shipping?
Be careful. Has some of the scam characteristics.
click Jan 28th, 09, 06:29 AM Find out where in Minn. the car is, if its not too far, Id go look at it for you :)
zdld17 Jan 28th, 09, 11:24 AM Find out where in Minn. the car is, if its not too far, Id go look at it for you :)
I spoke to a person at the advertised phone # (218)206-2498. He identified himself at Micheal Baxter. In one of the beginning photos, I see a sign, Fischers Antiques. I find the address on the web , http://www.fischerrestoration.com/page8.html
I spoke to the gentleman this morning about the subject car, but when the phone was ringing, on the second ring I noticed a click and pause in the ringing , telling me the phone could have a forwarding number?
I did not like the accent to the voice on the other end. Could be as someone mentioned earlier, "beware of a scammer". How ever the man said the car was at this above location and could be viewed there. This would tell the story.
I have a friend that would be interested in the car , not only for what is appears to be but for a driver. He wishes to purchase the car but will fly up to the closest major airport and go look at it first. If its what he wants,(already has enough toys), he will drive it back to Texas.
The car is in the St Paul area as per directions.
Click, if you or anyone else is in this area, I would appreciate someone looking at it. Nobody, put yourself out for this. As I said, I did not like the accent behind the voice.
If I can provide you or anyone else with information, let me know here or contact my email contacts listed in my profile.
Thanks.
click Jan 28th, 09, 11:44 AM Don, contact Mitch, he's in Stillwater, MN not far from that place you found out. He might be able to take a looksee... its over 2.5 hours from me :(
mitch is http://www.camaros.net/forums/member.php?u=28497
Terry C Jan 28th, 09, 02:40 PM Car was talked about in October:
http://www.camaros.net/forums/showthread.php?t=143536
ChevyThunder Jan 28th, 09, 03:22 PM I would think that before anyone goes to look at this car a picture of the engine stamp would be nice to see. I would call this guy back and ask him to email you one.... this car has a fake trim tag and frost green overspray in the trunk.... some serious sirens. Lets see if the engine stamp looks legit . Is this car priced at a point where it doesn't matter if it is real or not ?
Vintage 68 Jan 28th, 09, 03:26 PM Whomever stamped those partials on the trans and engine must have been drunk l:)
zdld17 Jan 28th, 09, 05:05 PM Thanks to everyone , I take your advise seriously. I have called the guy back, I gave him a list of items I would like to see before I even thought about hopping on a plane . My best friend, the one that bought his Z the same time I did, wanted the car, regardless whether or not the car was true. We have gotten the price down to 18K providing all is as said to be and in person. In reality, you can't build a car for this type of money and if its running as the owner said it was, it will be driven back. One of the items I need to check on the said Texas title, is the vins, including those hidden.
Yes, a drunk probably stamped the block, Ray Charles could have done better. One thing for sure if its a fake but a decent clone car, it will not be represented as a Z upon resale. This site can document the numbers.
I also will be looking at this frost green paint in the trunk as well as the rust , just above the axle, that looks like it could have been covered.
I will keep you guys informed and try to contact Mitch, whom ever he is. Thanks Click and all.
zdld17 Jan 29th, 09, 05:20 AM Amazing news, After all the communication yesterday on this vehicle, after all requests for copy of Texas title, photo of dash vin, block stamp, etc. The car sold last night.
End of story? We'll see where it ends up.
| |