Hurst Comp. Shifter Rebuild [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: Hurst Comp. Shifter Rebuild

Raysdz
Sep 27th, 09, 10:46 AM
Hello all.
I am approaching the milestone of installing my M20 in my 69 Camaro and noticed the shifter is in need of some freshening up.

Years ago I purchased the steel bushings used when inserting rods in the trans levers and shifter body levers.

However, I noticed that my shifter uses rubber bushings at the shifter body levers. These rubber bushings are a MESS.

I know GM specified certain differences in the stock shifters used for production cars. Is this one of those changes.

I haven't yet removed the bushings.

Theses rubber bushings I assume are used to dampen vibration.

Are these rubber bushings stock ? Who can supply new bushings ?

Thanks

Ray

Rookobird
Sep 27th, 09, 08:46 PM
Ray,
I'm no expert, but I've worked on some Hurst shifters. I just "freshened" my Comp. + shifter on my 69 M20. You can get the bushings and "s" clip looking things at regular auto parts stores (I used Knecht's). I've seen the bushings in "nylon" and metal, never rubber though.
I believe I used metal and cleaned everything on the shifter and linkage. Then I greased the shifter "guts" and reassembled everything. There is a "spring metal" cover over the guts of the shifter which can be removed for cleaning.
I know this isn't a real rebuild as it doesn't address the actual bushings of the shifter arm mechanisms. Hurst will rebuild them, but it's pretty $pendy. I believe more than half of a new shifter.
Aligning the shifter and arms when reinstalling on the tranny is very important. A little off on the neutral positions can cause problems, even locking up tranny so car won't move. It's not that difficult though. There is a hole in the shifter for a 1/4 inch rod ( I used a drill bit) which lines up the neutral points on all three shifter arms.
Good luck,
John