Making the best out of a bad paint job. [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: Making the best out of a bad paint job.

ryanater
Jun 19th, 10, 04:50 PM
I have a 69 Camaro with a fairly fresh paint job that just didn't turn out very good at all. It was done about 3 1/2 years ago for $1900 including replacing both quarter panels (which I supplied). Anyway the actual bodywork is pretty decent and the car is solid, but the paint job is leaving much to be desired.

First of all it is base coat/clear coat painted silver with black stripes.

There are several spots where I can see sanding marks.
The paint seems very dull.
The surface doesn't have a very smooth feel to it like a higher end paint job. (not rough, it just doesn't have that glassy feel)

I know I can't make it look perfect but I was wondering if you guys could help give me a few pointers on how to make the paint look any better without taking it in for new paint.

I have no experience with any sort of bodywork or paint but I could learn to do a few simple things if need be.

I will post pictures later tonight.

Thanks for the help!

Skeeter55
Jun 19th, 10, 04:57 PM
Sounds like it needs to be color sanded/cut and buff by a professional. After 3 1/2 years it may have shrink and nows the time for the final cut/buff. Do you know how many coats of clear you have, can you feel the edges of the stripes.

Sauron67MM
Jun 19th, 10, 05:33 PM