VigLink Crap [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: VigLink Crap


Z15CAM
Nov 23rd, 11, 05:26 AM
If Intellitxt isn't enough to slow down the forum now we have "VigLink"

You can rid Intellitxt Pop ups in forums by entering "127.0.0.1 intellitxt.com" in your HOST file but now we have VigLink & I have not found away to rid the NAG.

VigLink appears to be associated with Google and is embedded in the forum. I believe the Forum Ops can elect to Opt Out of VigLink.

HINT :o

UpDate: Found a FIX through FireFox/AdBlock or HOST file:

I added a JS Filter in AdBlock "http://cdn.viglink.com" or adding " 127.0.0.1 cdn.viglink.com" to HOST file - I'm Canadian. I imagine the 'cdn' prefix would be different pending the Country you reside as VigLink seems to address your IP Location.

I guess the forum can use the money but it does slow down our browsers.

Z15CAM
Nov 23rd, 11, 09:51 AM
BUMP :o

OK the "host" file is located in Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\host

Copy the "host" file to a Tmp Directory or your DeskTop and Rename to add the "txt" extension such the file reads "host.txt"

Click on it and Note Pad will Open for Editing - Make the Changes and SAVE then Rename to remove the txt Extension and Copy the edited "host" file back to the Windows\System32\Drivers\etc Directory to Over-Write the original "host" file.

Always keep a copy of the Original "host" file or the BEST one you have Edited.

I will never regret entering the following:

127.0.0.1 cdn.viglink.com (as I say "cdn" can be replaced with you Country's Initials)
127.0.0.1 intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 vibrantmedia.com
127.0.0.1 kontera.com
127.0.0.1 doubleclick.com
127.0.0.1 doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 fimserve.com
127.0.0.1 googleads.g.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 pagead2.googlesyndication.com
127.0.0.1 s0.2mdn.net
127.0.0.1 as.autoforums.com
127.0.0.1 images.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 content.yieldmanager.edgesuite.net
127.0.0.1 www.googleadservices.com (http://www.googleadservices.com)
127.0.0.1 cache.specificmedia.com
127.0.0.1 img.turn.com
127.0.0.1 pagead2.googlesyndication.com
127.0.0.1 imagen01.247realmedia.com
127.0.0.1 adclick.g.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 www.fashionbygeorge.ca (http://www.fashionbygeorge.ca)
127.0.0.1 ads.bluelithium.com
127.0.0.1 googleads.g.doubleclick.net


What's that www.googleadservices.com and www.fashionbygrorge.ca Crap - Man will it never end - Sish!
Maybe visible but can't link to their Servers - They're about Dead now anyway - LOL

Feel free to use 127.0.0.1 when you're Nagged - the problem is finding the IP Address of the Nagging Server - I find Ad-Block will ID it but Ad-Block only works with a Browser it's assigned to & Not the System.

Z15CAM
Nov 23rd, 11, 01:40 PM
Bump

HwyStarJoe
Nov 23rd, 11, 04:47 PM
What pop-ups do you get?
I don't think I've seen a pop-up from any web site in years. That is, ever since switching to Firefox and turning them off. Add AdBlock+ and all is dead quiet while surfing. Or switch to Chrome and it's even quieter.

Z15CAM
Nov 24th, 11, 12:11 AM
I did not say VigLink has pop ups but specific words such as engine block, radiator, alternator, starter, carburetor ... etc basically engine components are underlined and colored blue and linked to an advertiser or wholesale sight. It makes for our threads to look distracted when reading them. This could be ISP Location Specific and not all locations affected.

69-Pace
Nov 24th, 11, 06:02 AM
A much more flexible solution is to use FireFox with the "No Scripts" add on manager installed. Just configured only to allow Autofourms.com and Google if you use the Google embedded search feature, No scripts kills all the pop's ads and trackers.