Holley carb rebuild help [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: Holley carb rebuild help

Jdawg
Jul 11th, 03, 04:01 PM
OK, I am past the point of no return on my Holley 4150 4346 rebuild. It's disassembled and all parts are now clean. The documentation that came with the Holley Renew kit is, in my opinion, not that great. The exploded diagram for the 4150 doesn't even seem to match my carb. Anyway, I have a couple questions...

1. How can I tell which of the several replacement float valve & needle assemblies that came in the kit are for my carb? I don't see any markings on the installed ones.

2. I only found a single needle inside the pump discharge nozzle...not a check ball or check ball weight as diagram shows. Did I lose something or is this correct for the carb?

3. What is the proper dry float setting? I see 3 potential techniques in the instructions.

4. The air vent valve - should that be completely closed at idle and then open as you hit the throttle.

Obviously, I am not an expert at this...but I will prevail. Heck, I did it in high school 20 years ago and I don't remember it being this hard. Are there any other common pitfalls I should watch out for in re-assembly and tuning?

Thanks,

Jay
69 Z/28

dnult
Jul 11th, 03, 07:59 PM
Those holleys were reved a few times and there are some differences between units.

As for the needle and seat arrangment...use the one that looks like what you took out. If you supsect it is wrong, you'll find out during the foat adjustment.

I belive you're correct in that some accellerator pumps used a needle that installed under the accellerator nozzle. Is there a captive ball on the bowl assembly where the pump diaphram mounts?

Float should be set level. Hold the bowl upside down and adjust the float level until its level. This gets you close. The final adjustment will come when the unit is installed and wet. You'll adjust the level until fuel just runs out of the inspection holes on the side of the bowls.