Is it true you can get bubble flares from just doing half of a double flare?? [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: Is it true you can get bubble flares from just doing half of a double flare??

cody
Jun 12th, 04, 04:49 PM
Hi, i just read in a link from a previous post and have also heard from a reputable person that to get a metric bubble flare you can just do the first step of the the double flare and that will give you a bubble flare? is it that easy? i have an LS1 master cylinder and i will need to do 2 metric bubble flares, this would be great if its true, anyone done it? thanks!

RamJam
Jun 12th, 04, 05:12 PM
Is this the post you're referring too?

http://www.camaros.net/forum/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=7;t=006754

This is what it says about flares.

Know your flares
There are four (more or less) flaring styles in common use for brake systems. British cars have a bubble flare (aka Girling flare) backed up with a male swivel nut or a 45 degree double flare backed up with a female swivel nut. Metric cars have ISO bubble flares, where the pipes and threads are metric sizes rather than inch. Detroit iron has a 45 degree double flare backed up by a male threaded nut. Most (non-British) race cars are plumbed with AN (aka JIC) type single flares - a 37 degree single flare with a backup sleeve and inch threaded swivel nut (some people make a double flare here, which is useless overkill and may lead to failure; see below). Lastly, some brake fittings use tapered pipe fittings.

Take the easy one first: tapered pipe fittings are not really a positive seal under adverse conditions. They may do the job for a street car, but they certainly have no place on a race car.