compression ratio [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: compression ratio

zack 68
Dec 28th, 03, 06:26 AM
graemlins/clonk.gif hey guys i'm still learning so this might sound kinda weird,but does the compression ratio affect how loud the car sounds. for example if you have a 2.5" exhaust with headers and nothing else changes except the engine compression will this affect how loud the car sounds.
thanks,
zack68

jims73z
Dec 28th, 03, 08:11 AM
Yes, especially at idle. Not a huge amount but
my flowmasters went from loud to unbearable so I added mufflers in front of them. I also changed cam.

zack 68
Dec 28th, 03, 09:20 AM
how much increase did you have on your engine? would 9.5comp have a nice rumble?
zack68

pdq67
Dec 28th, 03, 10:32 AM
A high compression ration motor with a strong cam will have a "bark" to it that only compression can make!!

It's not that the low and medium compression motors don't sound strong, it's just that to me they don't have that bark!!

I think it has to do with opening the exhaust valve while there is still a lot of pressure on the cylinder due to the increase in compression since the charge is being squeezed harder then ignited but really don't know for sure??

There have been guy's comment about UDHarold's cam's creating that UD-Cam sound and I think that is what Harold said caused it?????

pdq67

zack 68
Dec 28th, 03, 11:58 AM
what in your opinion is the lowest compression ratio that will give you a slight "bark" on your engine?
zack68

pdq67
Dec 28th, 03, 06:21 PM
Imho, 11 to 1!! And a good 290 advertised duration solid lifter cam will help it out!! pdq67

camaroman7d
Dec 28th, 03, 08:19 PM
Zack,
Before you run out anb buy or build an 11:1 engine, maybe you should ask a few more questions.

11:1 is not going to be pump gas friendly (it can be if you know a few tricks).