!!!!! DOES THIS LOOK LIKE A SCAM !!!!! [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: !!!!! DOES THIS LOOK LIKE A SCAM !!!!!


JWLambertson
Feb 25th, 04, 06:41 AM
hi guys .. i remember a while back when there were some scams going on with the sale of camaros across seas.. look at this email and tell me what you think...

Hello there,
Thank you for your interest in purchasing my item .
First of all I must inform you that currently I'm in Portugal and the
machine is here with me . This was my father car, who died two weeks ago;
He bought it directly from a local dealership in Ohio.

The machine is in perfect condition ,only 21,900 miles on it,no damage,no scratches or dents, no hidden defects,keept in my
own garage.
The machine is an US model with US specs,it passed the test
emissions and comes with all the documents you need to register the
item.

It has a clear title and it can be registerd into your name,so stay
cool about this. I recently ordered a new car from a dealer down here and i need the cash in the next few days to pay for it.

The price I hope to obtain is $8,300 USD (this price includes the
shipping and insurance) and if you agree with this price we can start to complete the transaction.

If you have the cash and you are decided to buy the car from me, then you have to email me your shipping address.
I keep the car for you only after you make a deposit with 2,500 USD.
After you have made this deposit i will shipp the car and you will have to pay me at delivery.

The car will be shipped from Portugal and i will cover the shipping
costs and insurance.You will not have to pay additional taxes,just only the price for it.

So let me know what you think!


That is the email i recieved.. sounds fishy.. item on ebay is ... 2462961511

Tony67SS
Feb 25th, 04, 06:54 AM
I wouldnt send him no money. Heck shipping from portugal must be at least 2000.

DjD
Feb 25th, 04, 06:59 AM
First did you inquire about "the machine" or did the e-mail come unsolicited? My guess is you didn't inquire about it! Submit the return e-mail address to ScamChecker. We have more info here on TC at http://www.camaros.net/classifieds/scamalert.html

Doesn't sound legit to me...

JWLambertson
Feb 25th, 04, 07:03 AM
i sent a question about the location to the seller because i wanted to physically look at it.. that is when i got this email.. sounded shady to me...

angelglo
Feb 25th, 04, 07:27 AM
ask him for his address so you or a supposed friend can come take a look at it with in the next couple of days. tell him yo uwill be flying there. if he doesnt give you an address. then im sure it definetly is a scam.

choptop
Feb 25th, 04, 07:28 AM
Looks like ebay has already pulled the auction...must have been one of those scams where they guy uses someone elses car pics and fishes for $$$!

jackr
Feb 25th, 04, 08:43 AM
I get an unusual amount of nigerian e-mail. A few weeks ago I asked for a copy of the persons passport. I stated that I needed to know who I was doing business with. I actually got a copy of the passport sent. The name was spelled differently. Mariam became Myriem or something like that.

HwyStarJoe
Feb 25th, 04, 08:49 AM
Forward it to me! I wanna play games with 'em!

bretcopsey
Feb 25th, 04, 09:02 AM
If you check out that scamchecker site DJD referenced, you'll find links to other site's dedicated to messing with the scammers. Some funny stuff!! graemlins/beers.gif

fun with scammers (http://www.scamchecker.com/having_fun_with_scammers.html)

jbradway
Feb 25th, 04, 12:31 PM
It's a scam. They will ask you to use Western Union to send him the money. You'll never see your money again and there will be no car. This is a common tactic used by these scammers. They pull the same scams for plasma TVs and other electronics. They usually steal Ebay IDs from legit people, so don't even count on that as reference.

JIML82
Feb 26th, 04, 07:36 AM
Another part of the scam is to demand that you must become a "pre-approved bidder" to take part in the auction. They then use the info to steal your identity.

The same guy from Portugal is also selling his father's, perfect condition, extremely low mileage, 1967 big block Vette for $6700.

Domano 68
Feb 26th, 04, 07:53 AM
Smells like one too!

vr1967
Feb 26th, 04, 09:57 AM
I like the Nigerian email too. I (unfortunately) worked over there for 2 years, and know a fair amount about the place, presidents, etc..
so I can usually make them give themselves away without knowing it!!!

Virgil