View Full Version : camarotraderz
rich pern Mar 20th, 05, 03:00 PM Anybody have any input on these guys? They list camaros for sale and then when you contact them, it turns out they are a "listing" service and want a non refundable 100$ fee to give you the contact info. I have no issue with a 100$ finders fee, but it seems as if the fee is non refundable even if the car is sold "before" you can complete the sale with the owner. At least, that is what the email they sent me says. Unless I am mistaken, this has scam written all over it!
Rich
rich pern Mar 20th, 05, 03:13 PM OK,
Now I see that he has a ad that it looks like was harvested from here (73 Camaro with a 454), I wonder if he is harvesting ads and charging people $100 for "info". Remember that guy that was selling "salvage" car contact information with the theft recovery Z, after paying 20$ you find out the z is sold, and 6 months later, the z is still listed on his site!
jet_car2000 Mar 21st, 05, 03:53 AM whats his web site Rich ?
king67rsss Mar 21st, 05, 09:06 AM The website is http://www.camarotraderz.com/
jus4funn68 Mar 21st, 05, 10:15 AM I have seen this guy post many threads on this site: www.classic-camaro.com (http://www.classic-camaro.com) On this site he goes by the user name "OSSO12". He comes off to me as an idiot. He made the comment the other day on there that NO first generation camaro was worth over $25K. Ask him what cars HE owns. He will occasionally ask the opinion of others on that site before he trys to buy a $5K car for himself. I really think this guy is just an idiot trying to make a quick buck doing nothing. JMO Kevin
HwyStarJoe Mar 21st, 05, 10:52 AM Chill out Kevin. We don't want to make the guy mad, no matter what anyone thinks of him. Just hope he doesn't see this and raise a stink.
thorpe67RS Mar 21st, 05, 12:22 PM Hey Joe, is your car on the road? You gonna be out crusin this summer? Wondering if you were planning on making any Wednesday night cruises to the log cabin in Palmyra. Would like to catch up with you at a cruise in somewhere.
rich pern Mar 21st, 05, 01:16 PM This is the case (SCAM). I spoke to the actual owner of the car and he had NO IDEA that this guy had his car listed on the camarotraderz web site.
One other thing, when I called the camarotraderz guy, he mentioned the car being a clone. I was shocked as it was advertised as a X33 car. He then said that he calls cars without # matching motors, clones.
When I finally found the owners contact info, it turns out the car is really an X33.
Point is that how many people is the guy giving false information to, and more so, how many people is he collecting 100$, "non refundable" from, without even knowing if the car is sold, off the market or stolen.
Sorry, this is different from a broker or even a "bird dog" fee.
Rich
Uncle Tupelo Mar 21st, 05, 01:30 PM I wouldn't pay a fee to ANYONE unless they actually helped me buy the car. I certainly wouldn't pay him 100 every time he led me to a car that I didn't buy.
Oh well....it's his business, and some people may decide of thier own free will to pay the guy for this service...I am not one of those people...but to each his own I suppose
jus4funn68 Mar 21st, 05, 02:27 PM Sorry if I sounded a little harsh Joe. :( It isnt a personal thing with him. He just comes off as a person who isnt trustworthy to do business with. Sorry for using the "I" word! graemlins/thumbsup.gif Kevin
HwyStarJoe Mar 21st, 05, 03:42 PM Originally posted by thorpe67RS:
Hey Joe, is your car on the road? You gonna be out crusin this summer? Wondering if you were planning on making any Wednesday night cruises to the log cabin in Palmyra. Would like to catch up with you at a cruise in somewhere. Well, I was just out in the garage wondering the same thing. It'd take some serious dedication and a little luck to get it on the road this summer. :(
I could enter it in the "unfinished" class because it'll be roaming the streets in bare sheetmetal. I'll be checking in at the cruise-ins for sure, but it won't be in the Camaro.
Are those pictures of your '67 in the snow from THIS winter? It looks nice!
thorpe67RS Mar 21st, 05, 03:56 PM Thanks. Yeah i pulled it out of the barn for about 10 minutes so i could clean up the floor in the barn. It was a sunny day so figured i would take a couple pics since it was the first time it had been out since the new shocks and springs went in. Knock on wood graemlins/clonk.gif ...i think its all done now and ready for spring/summer crusin...if it ever gets here.
Uncle Tupelo Mar 21st, 05, 04:04 PM The stance looks great thorpe!
thorpe67RS Mar 21st, 05, 04:40 PM Thanks. I was happy with the way it turned out. I put the new shocks and springs in it while the motor was out this winter and then spent a month worrying it wasnt going to sit right when i got it back together. Big relief when i was all done.
|