: EBAY SCAM! SOMEONE IS TRYING TO SELL MY CAR!!!!
mark67ss May 19th, 04, 01:24 AM UNBELIEVABLE!! This is my CAR!! http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2479318223&category=6161
Someone is trying to sell it. All the info right down to the VIN NUMBER!!!! I bought it on ebay about two months ago and now someone is trying to SCAM PEOPLE USING MY CAR!! Please beware out there people!! EBAY use to be a very good place to find a car, but their security system leaves much to be desired!! You always hear of things like this, but when it happens to you, you can help but feel violated
JIML82 May 19th, 04, 01:30 AM Have you contacted eBay to inform them of this fraud!
Kyvox May 19th, 04, 01:46 AM What the hell....let's run the price UP a bit. Mark, put in a bid of about $2,000,000. You'll make a fortune!
shoddy_F-body May 19th, 04, 01:47 AM If i were you i would bid 100k on it to keep someone else from winning and getting scammed.
rojo May 19th, 04, 02:31 AM The seller only has 1 feedback but the bidders are obviously legit with 200+ ratings. Mark you should contact ebay.
HwyStarJoe May 19th, 04, 02:34 AM Didja happen to see the ONE piece of feedback the person got? It's in French.
Look at how many bid retractions there've been. "You must email me before bid!"
If that '69 is yours Mark, Get EBay to pull it. In the meantime, we can have a little fun with the 'seller'. ;)
smits67 May 19th, 04, 02:58 AM I just sent him an email. "you are a criminal and we are investigating you right now."
The reply ought to be good.
mark67ss May 19th, 04, 03:28 AM YUP,CONTACTED EBAY. Unfortunatley they need 24 hours to investigate. Told them I can fax them a copy of the title which is in my possesion proving the fact that I own the car, but hence they still need 24 hours!! What a joke. Meanwhile there have been two more bids as of this morning!! WHAT A JOKE, do people actually believe they can buy a car totally restored in mint condition for 7700? with NO RESERVE? I cant believe how stupid some people can be. I have since emailed all of the bidders making them aware of the situation. Funny thing is if they are stupid enough to bid on it, probably stupid enough to think I am trying to discourage them so I can bid on it instead!! .....just dont understand people sometimes. Think you are right, I will move the bid up to 2 million dollars and back out 24 hours before, that is if ebay doesnt shut it down first.
HwyStarJoe May 19th, 04, 03:44 AM I emailed them also.
DjD May 19th, 04, 03:53 AM Mark - calm down and don't do anything rash that like bidding on the car. You don't want ebay to see you as a crank bidder or the crook fighting back and trying to hold you to a legal contract. You have the car and title so keep your nose clean of all this. The typical scam is to get the deposit, look at the link at the top of this forum on ebay camaro scams. http://www.camaros.net/forum/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=2;t=008068
There happening at epidemic rates but everyone listed got shut down. It's cool you notified the bidders, if their greed gets the best of them at this point it's their own fault.
People get scammed every day in the most simple ways, example someone outside a bank by the atm is acting ticked off because the bank is closed. They approach the person at the atm and ask them if they will deposit their check into their account and give them cash from the atm. Usually there is a sob story and the bad guy offers to let them keep say $100 for their trouble. Check is for $400 give me $300 from your atm and we are even for for your trouble. Happens every day...
Vintage 68 May 19th, 04, 06:38 AM Mark67SS;
Go to the 'eBay' web site - click on the "Live Chat" thingy in the upper right area (under banners) and contact a "live" person to report the theft of you cars VIN for a Posting.
Explain the problem to them and if they don't help get their supervisor.
Demand they take the listing off right away.
I've gotten 2 listings taken down within minutes this way so far.
Hope this helps.
John
HwyStarJoe May 19th, 04, 06:49 AM At least the folks I emailed are gracious enough to respond and thank me.
Now let's see if they retract their bids.
By the way, you got one SWEET Camaro! graemlins/beers.gif
DjD May 19th, 04, 06:55 AM The seller has retracted bidders for not contacting him first. That's a big clue right there and I bet the bidders that have current bids got some story about ignoring e-mails from others...
kausboy May 19th, 04, 10:21 AM With all the scamming going on with Ebay right now I came accross a funny little article. Seems someone "scammed the scammer" in this one. It was worth the long read!! (NOT car related but funny!!)
http://personal.stevens.edu/~achadzyn/powerbook/
Check out "the p-p-p-powerbook"
hope it hasn't been posted before!
coporic May 19th, 04, 12:38 PM At the moment, i am the high bidder. I would pay
$8000 for that car all day. If the seller can produce it, I'll pay for it. - Dont think that will happen.
People have been getting scammed on e-bay every day. Last week I sold my 68 SS350 Camaro to a couple who lost a $2000 deposit on a car -
They sent it western union to some guy in Portugal, and said they talked to him on the phone several times and were thrilled with the deal. Of course, when the money was sent, they never heard from him again.
If it sounds to good to be true, - IT IS ! !
**************************************************
1967 Camaro SS-RS CONV 427
1968 Camaro SS-RS CONV 350
1969 Camaro SS-RS 350
1969 Camaro RS YENKO Clone
1969 Camaro RS Z/28 JL-8 X-Ram
1969 Camaro Z/28 USCC DIAMOND Certified
mark67ss May 19th, 04, 02:22 PM CLICK ON THIS LINK
http://f2.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/typhoon19682000/album?.dir=/c769
If you know of ANYONE WHO MAY TAKE THIS SERIOUSLY AT ALL PLEASE SEND THEM THIS LINK. I dont think I can prove it any better than this. Let me know if there are any problems with it.
THanks
MARK
mark67ss May 19th, 04, 02:49 PM LOOKS LIKE THE SCAM IS OVER AT LEAST IN MY CASE!! Ebay should have it down in 6 hours. Bids have all been cancelled by the seller. I think he is folding up shop and moving on. Thanks for all the great support and ideas especially the live chat on ebay. That worked great!!!
Wayne May 19th, 04, 02:51 PM Mark I sent him a email before I seen this post and ask him what was the buy it now price he said $7500.00 I told him I would take the car,I told him to send me an address and a phone # just waiting to see what he says before I bust his bubble. He said he was in Portugal
DjD May 19th, 04, 02:52 PM It's down to 3K now and all but 3 bids have been cancled...
camcojb May 19th, 04, 06:16 PM GONE!!!!!!!!!!!
Jody
jannes_z-28 May 19th, 04, 08:12 PM I sent him a request and got this answer, he is apparently moving arround a bit. Now he says he is in Italy.
If I do a check on this e-mail I got he is using an Yahoo mail account. If someone would like to trace it back to its origin it would be possible and maybe FBI could nail the S.O.B.
They have been able to trace Virus-bandits so this wouldn't be to hard.
Herre is the identifier:
Received: from [172.134.48.224] by web50001.mail.yahoo.com via HTTP; Wed,
19 May 2004 16:13:36 -0700 (PDT)
His name was Ruby Sipes
Here is the responose I got, the usual spam:
Dear Sir,
First of all i want you to know that I am currently in Italy.The price include shipping and insurance to your address. It will de delivered with Lufthansa Airplane Cargo insured in 5 days from the departure.(for USA and international for 4-6 days).Will be delivered in best conditions.All the manuals for the machines and the original documentation are in English. You will receive this along with all papers and recipts that you need to register it in your name. You will receive the TITLE,keys,owner manual...It has a Clear Title and all are in Showroom Condition. Again,there are no other fees and charges just the price. Some words about the car: perfect condition,no damages,no scratches or dents,no hidden defects,clear title, and it is as advertised,it passed the test emissions and comes with all the documents you need to register the car.
I will send you along with the product all the necessary documents, including an invoice with your name on it as "the buyer".The price for this machine is 7500$ USD.
As payment method I'll use Money Order because it's fast and easy, is the best way to handle an international deal like this. If you want to get this deal moving you must first complete the payment 7500$ via Money Order. The title is clear and in my possession so we can close the transaction as soon as funds are transfered.You will have 15 days money back guarantee. "15 days money back guarantee" mean that you have 15 days to test the car.If you will not like the car I will send you the money back in 48 hours.
If you agree the terms,we can get this deal moving.
I will apreciate a faster answer from your side.
These guys must be doing a lot of this SH*T, I mean not only selling Camaros like this, They must be doing it with a l ot of different easily selling items.
Jan
| |