82Vettrin
Jul 4th, 05, 10:30 AM
first, I'd like to thank whoever manages/supports/owns "Team Camaro" website for providing a great site ! I am a member of a Corvette website, and this one is far-superior to it ! so a big :thumbsup: to you !!
secondly, (and the reason for my thread) is to warn/wonder about your ads-section, and if anyone has had any ramifications from using such.. example: I have placed my '96 Corvette for sale in your ad section. (again, thank you for that feature), and this morning, I receive an e-mail from a (supposed) evelyn france, whose e-mail address is "yahoo.co.uk".. I assume that "uk" means United Kingdom. her message is short and simple, and I will copy it here: "Good day,
I am interested in the purchase of the car for my
personal use.
I have been directed to contact you on the purchase of
the car by camaros.net
Kindly let me hear from you affirming the deal and
cost of the car so that i can arrange for payment.
All pickups will be handled after payment..
kindly let me hear from you in earnest.
Thank you"
now, not only does that appear suspicious, but ironic (for me) as I have only as-of recently ridded myself of a long distance phone scam which I was billed thru my long distance carrier for internet porn calls to the United Kingdom !
don't laugh guys,, it ain't that funny :angry: it has been a genuine P.I.T.A. to rid myself of these charges. the scam was originated by a college kid in New Hampshire, and it was called the "Premier Premium Communications" scam.. you can read about it on Ripoff Reports.Com website. They third-party billed me thru two other phone carriers for the call (which I DID NOT make) and it's been a real hassle.. and I wasn't the only victim,, there were many others..
anyway, the reason I'm posting this thread is to advise others of my misfortune, and to pass-along a warning. I have posted (on my ad) for her to contact me thru this website if her interest in my car is genuine: if I simply reply to her e-mail, and the intent is bogus, by replying I give her the IP address of my computer. she has my IP address, she has my computer. it's that simple. Hopefully, I'm just being paranoid this morning and suffering from too many :beers: last night !! however, it's better to be safe, than sorry !!
mainly I was just wondering of others' success/misfortunes with the ad section..
thanks again Team Camaro.
Chris E.
(new member; wannabe Camaro owner)
secondly, (and the reason for my thread) is to warn/wonder about your ads-section, and if anyone has had any ramifications from using such.. example: I have placed my '96 Corvette for sale in your ad section. (again, thank you for that feature), and this morning, I receive an e-mail from a (supposed) evelyn france, whose e-mail address is "yahoo.co.uk".. I assume that "uk" means United Kingdom. her message is short and simple, and I will copy it here: "Good day,
I am interested in the purchase of the car for my
personal use.
I have been directed to contact you on the purchase of
the car by camaros.net
Kindly let me hear from you affirming the deal and
cost of the car so that i can arrange for payment.
All pickups will be handled after payment..
kindly let me hear from you in earnest.
Thank you"
now, not only does that appear suspicious, but ironic (for me) as I have only as-of recently ridded myself of a long distance phone scam which I was billed thru my long distance carrier for internet porn calls to the United Kingdom !
don't laugh guys,, it ain't that funny :angry: it has been a genuine P.I.T.A. to rid myself of these charges. the scam was originated by a college kid in New Hampshire, and it was called the "Premier Premium Communications" scam.. you can read about it on Ripoff Reports.Com website. They third-party billed me thru two other phone carriers for the call (which I DID NOT make) and it's been a real hassle.. and I wasn't the only victim,, there were many others..
anyway, the reason I'm posting this thread is to advise others of my misfortune, and to pass-along a warning. I have posted (on my ad) for her to contact me thru this website if her interest in my car is genuine: if I simply reply to her e-mail, and the intent is bogus, by replying I give her the IP address of my computer. she has my IP address, she has my computer. it's that simple. Hopefully, I'm just being paranoid this morning and suffering from too many :beers: last night !! however, it's better to be safe, than sorry !!
mainly I was just wondering of others' success/misfortunes with the ad section..
thanks again Team Camaro.
Chris E.
(new member; wannabe Camaro owner)