car sitting lower on left side! HELP!!!! [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: car sitting lower on left side! HELP!!!!

1slow67maro
Nov 5th, 05, 06:01 PM
i am new to this online community and i was smart enough to use the search button but i can not find any problem like i have, so bare with me, and thanks for any help. i have a 1967 camaro rs and in the process of restoring the car. new quarters, new trunk and floor pans have been installed. front and rear end pulled out and replaced all bushing with polyurethane bushing. after reinstalling the front end the car looked good (up on jackstands in the rear). then when i installed the rear end again with the old leaf springs and new hardware the car is sitting about one and a half inches lower on the left side of the car. the guy before me has put a 68 or 69 rear end under the car because it has multi leaf rear end but only mono leaf springs. the guy had two wood blocks under the rear end to fill in the missing leafs, so i took those wood blocks out and repaced it with steel blocks (same size) just to put the car back together. i am completely frustrated and want to fix my car like its supposed to be. do i need to buy multi leaf springs? do i need to get rid of that 68-69 rear end and put in a 67? or is the car just twisted and im stuck with a car that sits sideways? sorry for the long post but i want you to have as much info as possible. thanks for any help and i did use the search button but came up empty (if you can point me to the right thread if one has already been posted...thanks).

q2quest
Nov 5th, 05, 06:13 PM
It is probable that the left spring has just sagged after 38 years. Replace both leaf springs with new high quality ones like Hotchkis or ones offered at Classic Industries, etc. Don't panic, it is almost certainly the leaf springs.

Steve's68RS
Nov 5th, 05, 06:42 PM
get a heavy date for the right side.......

CFunK
Nov 6th, 05, 12:50 PM