View Full Version : Is this Tag Fake


tonyvol
Dec 1st, 05, 09:43 AM
Is this tag fake? I found this on ebay and the LOS sequence letters (E133)don't look like they are postioned correctly on the tag.

Ebay item number: 4594186510

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Chevrolet-Camaro-REAL-396-SS-1967-Chevrolet-Camaro-SS-396-4N-Factory-Super-Sport-BB_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ6161QQitemZ459418651 0QQrdZ1

Mark C
Dec 1st, 05, 10:23 AM
Yes, it's a fake tag.

ZZMike
Dec 1st, 05, 10:42 AM
Oh yeah, that's an easy one

It's fake

davepl
Dec 1st, 05, 11:08 AM
Wow, is this common? I always figured it was possible in theory, but have never heard of it actually being done.

Maybe I'm just naive, I guess!

tonyvol
Dec 1st, 05, 12:10 PM
What is the 'Z' on the number 2 option line? I don't recall a 'Z' for the 2 option. Also, was I right in the way the 'E133' was layed out or are there other things wrong with the tag? Just trying to educate myself in spotting fake tags.

67CruiseMasterCamaro
Dec 1st, 05, 01:02 PM
I believe that 2Z was meant to be used for T400 trans. But, the T400 trans code was thought only used at the Norwood plant. If you study the tag a little more you will find out why it is a fake.

What is the 'Z' on the number 2 option line? I don't recall a 'Z' for the 2 option. Also, was I right in the way the 'E133' was layed out or are there other things wrong with the tag? Just trying to educate myself in spotting fake tags.

sleepsinshed
Dec 1st, 05, 04:06 PM
What do you expect from someplace called the "Blue Oval Ranch"?

tonyvol
Dec 1st, 05, 09:10 PM
I have looked at this tag again and really don't see what is fake about it? The only thing I see about this tag that looks funny is the 'E133'. Can someone give me a hint without given too much info. for the crooks?