clear coat wetsanding? [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: clear coat wetsanding?

camaro4lfe
Apr 18th, 02, 09:53 AM
well i got my 94 all stripped and bout to paint over the weekend hopefully i want a nice DEEP gloss got decent paint nice clear and want to know the best way to get deeper gloss with high shine would it be

1 4 coats of clear wetsand /buff

or

2 2 coats of clear wetsand 2 more coats wetsand buff

if i go with 2 can u see fine sand scratches under the final coats

ragtopman
Apr 18th, 02, 04:44 PM
1st, use a high solids clear and don't rush the dry times with too fast of solvents.

2nd, if its my car, 2 coats of clear, 600 wet sand 2 more coats of clear, sand and buff.

------------------
Jim
67 Camaro SS Conv.
70 Challenger R/T Conv.

RandyB
Apr 18th, 02, 06:48 PM
Can someone explain to me why you would wet sand in between coats of clear. I know this might sound silly, but i"ve been painting cars and about everything else with wheels for 17 years now and I'm self taught. I've heard about this procedure many times and I can see quit a few problems that may occur to your average home painter.
I put down about 3-4 heavy coats of clear and then sand with 1000 grit and buff with 3-M perfectit III. Now cars that I've painted have taken some nice awards, so why would you waste time and clear sanding between coats when if properly sanded on the final coat you can achieve the same look??

RandyB..
www.angelfire.com/ky2/mycars (http://www.angelfire.com/ky2/mycars) for pics.

Toby Keen
Apr 19th, 02, 12:35 AM
From my experience, the time involved is about the same and so is the amount of material. The 600 cuts faster and produces a very flat surface to put the last coats of clear on, which in turn produces less orangepeel to sand off the final coats with the 1000, 1500 or 2000.
It also offers a tiny bit of insurance that the panels are absolutely perfect before the last coat (s) of clear are put on.