Converting from a powerglide to a 200r4 [Archive] - Team Camaro Tech

: Converting from a powerglide to a 200r4

67CamaroHawaii
Jul 25th, 06, 07:41 PM
Thanks to everyone's help here I've tracked down a used 200r4 transmission and am looking to install it in my 67 Camaro, but I have a few questions first. Firstly, will the existing crossmember from my 2 speed powerglide fit my 200r transmission? Secondly, can I use my yoke from the powerglide as well? And lastly, will my powerglide shifter work with the 200r4? Sorry if the questions seem like newbie questions, but I am a newbie when it comes to transmission stuff.

Thanks,
Chuck

Rocketrod
Jul 25th, 06, 07:58 PM
Thanks to everyone's help here I've tracked down a used 200r4 transmission and am looking to install it in my 67 Camaro, but I have a few questions first....
What is the donor car the trans come out of and what kind of HP/TQ is your motor producing?

Firstly, will the existing crossmember from my 2 speed powerglide fit my 200r transmission? ...
No you will need to get a TH400 crossmember and slightly modifiy it, or order one from www.bowtieoverdrives.com

Secondly, can I use my yoke from the powerglide as well? ...
Yes

... And lastly, will my powerglide shifter work with the 200r4? Sorry if the questions seem like newbie questions, but I am a newbie when it comes to transmission stuff...
If you have a horseshoe shifter there is a compnay that makes kits for them, but I don't remember their name.

67CamaroHawaii
Jul 25th, 06, 08:27 PM
The 200r4 came out of a 87 Monte Carlo with a 305 motor in it. My motor is pretty much a bone stock 327 with a four barrell carb that I have installed headers and a flowmaster exhaust system, as well as an MSD ignition. Don't know the exact HP/TQ specs but it's not much more than stock. My powerglide shifter is not the horse shoe one, it looks like a t. Thanks again.

BPOS
Jul 25th, 06, 09:04 PM
www.shiftworks.com for the shifter mods.

TOM BARKLEY
Jul 25th, 06, 09:05 PM