View Full Version : What do you guys think of this car?


68rs406
Oct 11th, 06, 06:26 PM
Hi guys, a real good buddy is looking for a 67-68 convertable or 69 ss hardtop camaro, preferably a convert though, and I told him absolutely positively let me check the car out first, figured I could run it by some of you guys that are on top of these things.
He's a major car guy but not real up on camaros, and I'm limited in my knowledge as far as certain aspects and value of the ragtops etc.
He found this one on racingjunk 67rs convert (http://www.racingjunk.com/post/731573/1967-RS-Camaro-Convertible-22-900-NICE.html) , what is your first impression from the real vague pictures? I did however tell him if he goes ahead on a car thats not local, having somebody check out the car is a must.
Thanks in advance guys :beers:

Vintage 68
Oct 11th, 06, 06:52 PM
The cowl looks okay.
The upper VIN rivet looks round ?
I would have someone check the car in person and check the hidden VIN and Title.

68rs406
Oct 11th, 06, 07:18 PM
I was thinking the same thing, that one rivet is different. He really wants to look at a local car, but has yet to find one.
If the car is legit, does it seem like a fair price?

DROPTOPtimes2
Oct 11th, 06, 07:29 PM
Price looks good to me if the floors, body, and frame are solid and if the paint is in decent shape.

Vintage 68
Oct 11th, 06, 09:21 PM
Isn't this one closer - http://www.dealsonwheels.com/search/detail.aspx?id=000507-200608-000010

68rs406
Oct 11th, 06, 10:01 PM
Definately closer, I'll show him that, thanks!
I do know they want an rs or something of that nature, it's for his wife, she had a real nice 69rs but she likes 68-67 better (my kind of girl ;) ).
What they really want is a 4 speed car, in good factory type shape, in rs or ss and convert., I talked to him tonight and he had sticker shock I think, didn't realize how much they were going for, they are looking for something in the range of the car on racingjunk and the one you posted vintage, price wise. He also likes 66-70 chevelle converts, but those are pretty uncommon it seems.

myyenco
Oct 12th, 06, 01:00 PM
The red RS was on this site also, may still be.
The guy advertising it has listed and assumable sold several cars on this site, some very nice and some drivers and projects. I think if he was misrepresenting his cars he would have been 'hog tied' on this site by now.
So I'd give him a call if you're serious, I believe he'd tell you how it is. And no I don't know him.

Rob

68rs406
Oct 12th, 06, 11:17 PM
Thanks, good info about the guy. My buddy had already called and spoke to him, but kind of had mixed feelings. I told him it looks like a decent car, appears correct etc., but don't buy it without looking at it or having someone look at it, he agreed. The only thing I see thats odd is in the trunk, to the right of the driver side plug in the trunkpan there almost looks to be some hokey patch panel action going on, but pictures are tough.
I think for now he's going to try and find one locally, he just doesn't like buying sight unseen, and I don't blame him. I figured I'd get some good responses and as you said, it seems like the "usual offenders" are well known here on TC, and thats why I figured I'd ask, Thanks again :beers: