Power Trunk actuator - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 2nd, 13, 12:40 PM
Kunihiro Kunihiro is offline

Allen
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 24
Default Power Trunk actuator

Hi Everyone,

For those of you who have installed a power trunk actuator in your first gen (specifically a '69), can you please be so kind as to tell me if this is the correct unit?

If it is, I guess I'll be on the hunt for one. If not, can you please tell me what unit will work? Possibly a pic, for my reference?

When I had my '71RS, this was the unit that I installed (and worked).



thanks in advance.

Allen
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Jan 2nd, 13, 12:51 PM
freezined freezined is online now
Senior Tech

Ed
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hello Wisconsin!
Posts: 342
Default Re: Power Trunk actuator

http://www.ebay.com/itm/67-68-69-Cam...e1432e&vxp=mtr

I added one that looks like this unit. Doesn't have to be Camaro only, nearly anuthing GM about 65-72?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 2nd, 13, 01:07 PM
prostreet69camaro's Avatar
prostreet69camaro prostreet69camaro is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Mike
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 5,581
Default Re: Power Trunk actuator

Yours doesnt look correct. The one that ED shows is a direct bolt-on and the lock is at the top. It has to have the 3 bolts to mount it.
__________________
Mike
69 Camaro Prostreet - purple w/ghost flames , 502 w/ 871 blower

http://s268.photobucket.com/home/pro...maro/allalbums
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 2nd, 13, 01:45 PM
Kunihiro Kunihiro is offline

Allen
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 24
Default Re: Power Trunk actuator

Great, thanks for responding. Dang good thing I asked.


Allen

Last edited by Kunihiro; Jan 2nd, 13 at 02:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 2nd, 13, 02:34 PM
69-Pace's Avatar
69-Pace 69-Pace is online now
Moderator

Brian
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hartford Connecticut USA
Posts: 5,156
Default Re: Power Trunk actuator

Allen - Yes that unit will work. The unit will bolt it on to the back side. See the attached pictures.

The other GM option was that the actuator was built into the normal trunk latch (picture attached with the letter A) This was the standard unit used on Chevelle and Impala.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	power_trunk_set_A_1_1.JPG
Views:	76
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	31592   Click image for larger version

Name:	22857220-046.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	31593   Click image for larger version

Name:	22857236-154.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	26.0 KB
ID:	31594  
__________________
1969 Z11 Pace Car - L48 350cid/300hp - 4 Speed Muncie 12 bolt rear
http://69pace.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 2nd, 13, 06:25 PM
67Carl's Avatar
67Carl 67Carl is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Carl
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 695
Default Re: Power Trunk actuator

I installed a power trunk latch on my 67 a few months ago. I bought it on eBay and it looks like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/67-68-69-Cam...2e1f02&vxp=mtr

You could find them for less money than this one if you look. There are a few without the wire or switch that a less. Wire and a 12 volt momentary switch are cheap.
__________________
1967 350, Hurst TKO 600 5 speed, 12 bolt 3:55 posi, RS added
http://photobucket.com/1967_Camaro_Carl
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Jan 3rd, 13, 09:32 AM
Kunihiro Kunihiro is offline

Allen
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 24
Default Re: Power Trunk actuator

Carl,

Thanks for responding. Funny, the Ebay link you sent was the one I won, last night. The seller, who lives nearby me, is coming over today to drop it off.

Thanks again,

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Jan 3rd, 13, 09:51 AM
67Carl's Avatar
67Carl 67Carl is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Carl
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 695
Default Re: Power Trunk actuator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kunihiro View Post
Carl,

Thanks for responding. Funny, the Ebay link you sent was the one I won, last night. The seller, who lives nearby me, is coming over today to drop it off.

Thanks again,

Allen
That's pretty good service! Maybe he will install it for you if you give him a beer?! Its such a nice convenience having it, especially once i wired it into my alarm and can open it with a remote button.

BTW, I lived in Upland back in the early 90's, up by Arrow Highway and Euclid.
__________________
1967 350, Hurst TKO 600 5 speed, 12 bolt 3:55 posi, RS added
http://photobucket.com/1967_Camaro_Carl
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Jan 3rd, 13, 06:33 PM
Kunihiro Kunihiro is offline

Allen
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 24
Default Re: Power Trunk actuator

Carl,

Arrow Hwy & Euclid, back in the 90's? I don't believe the area has changed that much.

Campus Av has been extended about another 3/4 miles and traverses a large shopping area and the 210 Fwy now. The 210 Fwy got extended all the way into Highland.

If you're not aware, one of the old City Council guys (Jon Pomierski), who picked up the mayoral spot, just got convicted of a large fraud scheme between he and a large contractor company. The company was responsible for building a large residential tract (called "The Colonies") on the east end of Upland, where the "green belt' used to be. North of Baseline, east of Campus.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:18 PM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com