check this scam out - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Bench Racing Stories, cruising and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 23rd, 07, 05:30 PM
c1run1 c1run1 is offline
Senior Tech

Joe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toms River, NJ USA
Posts: 368
Default check this scam out

This guy has been emailing me all week on my Lincoln :

Hi back Joe,

I understand what you mean and are wondering about the way of payment I suggested.
I may have not expressed my thoughts correctly. Sorry.

Practice to pay with a check I have allready applied is usually the following since I am working with an agent acting for me with my funds :
So he is always finding a safe shared solution for seller and buyer.

1. I send money to my agent,
2. My agent prepares a certified bank check for you as it is easier for him since money will be paid in the Usa,
3. You receive in advance a fax copy of the bank check so you have time to ask at your bank to control if this is a valid one so you are safe by knowing you will have a valid check,
4. My agent sends the check to his trucker,
5. You will be in contact with my agent so you define a picking up day at your convienience for the car with the truck and/or my agent,
6. At day of picking up of car and title, trucker will have the right check for you that you controlled at your bank.

I allready used this way of payment for sellers wanting a bank check of similar amounts, so everybody was fine like this.

What do You think of this ? Is it better expressed as I may be not fluent ?

Anyway, you would have first contact with my agent at beginning so you could have a good communication together and maybe find another good solution between Us citizens if required.


********

Concerning car's condition, I know what you mean.
I can tell you that I do not think at this car as a turn key one even if you ran the engine.
Pics speak themselves but It was necessary for me to have confirmation of the condition of several points needing restoration as you did upon my request.
That helps me to check who is able to do the required job here on the required points of restoration, the todo's things and others that can wait... you see what I mean.

If I did not expressed excitation for it this is not due to lack of motivation for her but because I am much thinking to practical details for a smooth transaction later for us if it comes.

Of course, I will definitly express excitation and happiness if you contact me with a lower buy it now price : DD. (LOL.. joke or not ???) so I just have to click instantly.


I will wait to hear from you about all this.

Have a very Nice evening
Regards

Sebastian
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Aug 23rd, 07, 05:30 PM
c1run1 c1run1 is offline
Senior Tech

Joe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toms River, NJ USA
Posts: 368
Default Re: check this scam out

I told him send me the money , or no deal !!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 23rd, 07, 06:02 PM
dbx1969 dbx1969 is offline
Senior Tech

Kevin
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: check this scam out

That is clearly a common scam. I found that since I listed some things on Craig's List...I've received a ton of them. The good thing about it? They're all the sames basic language...usually terrible usage of our language....and all want to do some deal through an "agent".

If they weren't so "by the book" with their BS, I believe MANY more people would fall for it. In other words, they're stupid thieves.

Don't even converse with him...at all.
__________________
Learning & Relearning about the cars I grew up with.
69' - Built 350, 750 Holley, Elgin E920P Cam, 283 PP Heads, Long Comp Headers, MSD, TKO-600, 12 Bolt Posi 3.73, Hotchkis Rear, Eibach Front w/Hotchkis Sway, SPC UCAs, 3rd Gen PS, AR TTII's. Still working on it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 23rd, 07, 06:14 PM
Summit Summit is offline
Senior Tech

Sean
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Inland Northwest by the BC Border
Posts: 154
Default Re: check this scam out

There must be a "Cliffs Note's" version of this scam out there. I received the same thing when I had my 71 for sale. Seems like to me the name used was also Sebastion.
__________________
1968 Camaro RS -Original 327 & Powerglide
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 23rd, 07, 06:22 PM
keypilot's Avatar
keypilot keypilot is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Mark
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida Keys
Posts: 2,647
Default Re: check this scam out

i get these about boats too, cashier check is fake and it can take the bank up to 2 months to figure it out. (from my bank guy). when they do the guy is long gone. i just tell them to cash the check and send the driver with cash.
never hear back.
__________________
Don't stop now!!!
67 camaro driver
383 10:1
Horsepower:
515 @ 5,500 rpm
Torque:
499 lb-ft @ 4,800 rpm
www.firstgens.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 23rd, 07, 06:30 PM
Lost in the 60's Lost in the 60's is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Mitch
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 2,324
Default Re: check this scam out

Quote:
Originally Posted by keypilot View Post
i just tell them to cash the check and send the driver with cash.
never hear back.
I listed a bunch of parts from an S15 parts truck on Craig's List and in capitol letters at the bottom I stated... CASH ONLY....NO CHECKS. I never got any scam communication...
__________________
... 67 Camaro, ss/rs LA built driver/project
....66 Chevelle SS, Atlanta built 138 driver/project
... 70 Chevelle SS, Canadian documented Z25 project
....67 GTO, Pontiac, MI built, PHS documented 242...basket case..
Link to webshots pics of all cars... http://community.webshots.com/user/StillwaterCamaro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Aug 23rd, 07, 07:28 PM
dbx1969 dbx1969 is offline
Senior Tech

Kevin
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: check this scam out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Summit View Post
There must be a "Cliffs Note's" version of this scam out there. I received the same thing when I had my 71 for sale. Seems like to me the name used was also Sebastion.
LOL, I forgot about that^ part. Yep, their name is always one that would fit a butler to a T...or any soap opera character.
__________________
Learning & Relearning about the cars I grew up with.
69' - Built 350, 750 Holley, Elgin E920P Cam, 283 PP Heads, Long Comp Headers, MSD, TKO-600, 12 Bolt Posi 3.73, Hotchkis Rear, Eibach Front w/Hotchkis Sway, SPC UCAs, 3rd Gen PS, AR TTII's. Still working on it.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:52 PM.



Camaros.net - © 2009 AutoForums.com