Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro

Auto Insurance

Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Transmission & Driveline Transmissions and Differentials

Old Oct 26th, 07, 08:12 AM

Question No reverse - turbo 350 tranny

Recently, I noticed that my reverse is not working. Forward gears are so, so and tranny is not automatically shifting as clean as before. Fluid looks fine. I have a 1969 with a 350. Need your expert advice. I am a learning novice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old Oct 26th, 07, 09:02 AM
Senior Tech

Kyle

Default Re: No reverse - turbo 350 tranny

You're a novice and even an expert novice will tell you that automatic transmissions are tricky and most people will tell you that they take their trannies to a shop when they behave the way that yours is atm...if your tranny is original equipment i would suggest taking it to a good transmission rebuilt shop and get them to tear it apart and they will probably rebuild the whole thing rather than just fix the one problem .. because they know that once your tranny starts having problems chances are it's not to far from a complete rebuild anyway... besides while they got the dang thing a part might as well put the new parts in.

I doubt that your problem is with the torque convertor .. but while you have your tranny out ... i suggest replacing the convertor unless it has been recently replaced..

If you want to investigate a bit before taking your tranny out .. take off the tranny pan and filter ..look in the bottom of the pan... open the filter up.. see if there is any gunk (very technical term hehe) in the pan ...check for shiny things in filter and pan.

The last time i had your problem with an auto trans it was rebuild time.

Hope this helps in some way... maybe one of our tranny shop members can be of more help.
4:11 POSI
BLUE W/WHITE STRIPES

http://www2.snapfish.com/slideshow/A...71/t_=88171671
Old Oct 26th, 07, 09:30 AM
Senior Tech