350 crank in a 327 block... - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Performance Our High Performance area

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 16th, 03, 01:24 PM
RyanP1 RyanP1 is offline
Tech Team

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 34
Post

I have a 327 ( 327 1968 casting number with large journals) bored 0.060 over.
I want more torque.
Can I bolt in a 350 crank, change pistons and go? Will I have to do any grinding?
Correct me if I am wrong, but I would think grinding to be unnecessary... aren't 327/350 blocks the exact same? Isn't the only difference the stroke and piston height?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Sep 16th, 03, 01:43 PM
stingr69 stingr69 is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: LR AR
Posts: 2,372
Post

You are correct.

-Mark.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old Jan 16th, 11, 10:19 PM
8secs-10 8secs-10 is offline

tritt
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: thomson ga.
Posts: 5
Default Re: 350 crank in a 327 block...

how bout it im just a local gear head with high hope and alot of questions,i,ve got a 1971 350 engine i just purchased the problem with it is the block is busted at the corner bolt for the outside starter bolt,i also have a 1968 327 part #3914660 not sure of the journal size( if anyone with info please help) can i take the guts from the 350- rods pistons etc.. and interchange with with 327 block without machine work or what would be the best route? PLEASE HELP thanks to all!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old Jan 16th, 11, 10:40 PM
kettbo kettbo is offline
Senior Tech

George
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 1,690
Default Re: 350 crank in a 327 block...

68 327s have the '350-sized' mains so you can put the 350 parts in the 327 block
this is to say if the bores are the same
you could also have the block repaired...pretty common problem
__________________
George Kettler
US ARMY Retired, Scouts Out!
o 70 Elky 454/3000 stall/3.42 gears
1.632 60ft, 11.726 ET, 113.49mph
o 68 Vette 427, owner 23 years
o 68 Camaro Rallye Green Vert 327/2004R/3.73 http://www.camaros.net/forums/showth...183654&page=68
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old Jan 16th, 11, 10:46 PM
camaro_fever68's Avatar
camaro_fever68 camaro_fever68 is offline
Senior Tech

Ray P.
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: S. Louisiana
Posts: 637
Default Re: 350 crank in a 327 block...

Just had an outside starter bolt repaired in a 400 block. Cost me 75.00.
__________________
Ray
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old Jan 17th, 11, 06:08 AM
8secs-10 8secs-10 is offline

tritt
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: thomson ga.
Posts: 5
Default Re: 350 crank in a 327 block...

thank you guys very much its hard to get good info on these things sometimes but could i just take it to a machine shop or any good suggestions for the area
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old Jan 17th, 11, 08:29 PM
Joe Harrison's Avatar
Joe Harrison Joe Harrison is offline
Senior Tech

67 Camaros Rock
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 6,866
Default Re: 350 crank in a 327 block...

or you can go 400 crank and stroke it to 383 and have the numbers of a 327 and badge as a 327, leave stock looking like the 327 and have real sleeper looking small block.
__________________
"If you can leave black marks on a straight from the time you exit a corner till the time you brake for the next turn.......
Then, you have enough horsepower."
-Mark Donahue
My 67 Camaro Time Line http://www.camaros.net/forums/showthread.php?t=211805
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old Jan 17th, 11, 11:30 PM
TJS69 TJS69 is offline
Senior Tech

Tom
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rochester Mn
Posts: 6,882
Smile Re: 350 crank in a 327 block...

Usually if you put in a 400 crank, you will have to do some clearancing (grinding). Also the mains will need to be machined larger if you use a stock 400 crank. The aftermarket has 3.75" stroke cranks with 350 mains.
__________________
69 Camaro -originally a LM1 car. 327, Edelbrock E-streets, hooker, DUI performance distributors, ultradyne cam, stewart, TRW etc. Vintage Air, AGR steering, Corbeau GTSII seats, 700R4 TPI transmission, 12-bolt w/Eaton 4.11:1
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old Jan 18th, 11, 07:48 PM
Joe Harrison's Avatar
Joe Harrison Joe Harrison is offline
Senior Tech

67 Camaros Rock
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 6,866
Default Re: 350 crank in a 327 block...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJS69 View Post
Usually if you put in a 400 crank, you will have to do some clearancing (grinding). Also the mains will need to be machined larger if you use a stock 400 crank. The aftermarket has 3.75" stroke cranks with 350 mains.
Clearancing of the block yes.....machine work on the mains in the block no. Strokers have been built for many years using 400 cranks in 350 blocks, the 400 mains are turned down .200 to fit the 350 block at STD bearing sizes. The 68 327 block is the large journal block. It's a basicly a 350 block with a 307 crank....which gives you a 327. The 307 was the engine that replaced the 327 about mid year in 1969.
__________________
"If you can leave black marks on a straight from the time you exit a corner till the time you brake for the next turn.......
Then, you have enough horsepower."
-Mark Donahue
My 67 Camaro Time Line http://www.camaros.net/forums/showthread.php?t=211805
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Team Camaro Tech > All Generations > Performance      Current Topic: 350 crank in a 327 block...
Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Camaro Tech forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
NOTE we receive a lot of registrations with bad email addresses. IF you do not receive your confirmation email you will not be able to post. contact support and we will try and help.
Be sure you enter a valid email address and check your spam folder as well.

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 PM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com