Can you put a Turbo in a V6? - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
  



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Fourth Generation 1993-2002

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar 22nd, 09, 10:17 PM
Dukesmaster Dukesmaster is offline

TRAVIS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 17
Lightbulb Can you put a Turbo in a V6?

Here i am again. This time looking to improve perfomance and gas milage.
I have a 94 Camaro 3.4L V6, 5 speed.
I heard that you cant put a Turbo or Super Charger in a V6 (something about the engine not being able to handel the extra power.) No im not going to sell the car to get a V8. Or some rice burner. I love my car.

The mods that i have are:
K&N Air Intake
Dual Exhaust


Thanks again
DukesMaster
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #2  
Old Mar 22nd, 09, 11:36 PM
Mad Max Mad Max is offline

Rob
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 27
Default Re: Can you put a Turbo in a V6?

Buick grand national's have supershargers, pontaic gran am GT's have em... there six's. You can put any power outer on any engine and the engine may fail... yes you have to do more mods to your engine to handle the power.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old Mar 23rd, 09, 07:08 AM
victimizati0n victimizati0n is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,320
Default Re: Can you put a Turbo in a V6?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Max View Post
Buick grand national's have supershargers, pontaic gran am GT's have em... there six's. You can put any power outer on any engine and the engine may fail... yes you have to do more mods to your engine to handle the power.
they are also 3.8's

but, yes you can put a turbo on.. supercharger.. im not really sure unless it is one of those ones that looks like a turbo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old Mar 23rd, 09, 01:50 PM
Steptoe Steptoe is offline
Senior Tech

Steps
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 13,029
Default Re: Can you put a Turbo in a V6?

The aussie V6 non blowers have a higher CR than the blower engines
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old Mar 23rd, 09, 02:14 PM
victimizati0n victimizati0n is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,320
Default Re: Can you put a Turbo in a V6?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steptoe View Post
The aussie V6 non blowers have a higher CR than the blower engines
sounds about right, you need low compression pistons in a blown/turbo'd engine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old Mar 23rd, 09, 10:05 PM
Buds87gn Buds87gn is offline

Erick
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 11
Default Re: Can you put a Turbo in a V6?

My 3.8 GN has 8:1 compression, I run 23 psi boost.

I know people that have put turbo's on 4 and 6 cyl. naturaly asp. engines, but they had to limit boost to less then 10psi.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old Mar 24th, 09, 07:45 AM
DenRS's Avatar
DenRS DenRS is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 1,370
Default Re: Can you put a Turbo in a V6?

Yes a turbo or supercharger can be added. You will need to add forged pistons etc to you car. There are no kits available, but there are folks who have done this. Its not cheap and many will tell you its a waste of time as its lot cheaper to mod an ls1 car etc. I think its kinda cool and definitely different.

http://www2.turbov6camaro.com:443/home.htm


http://www.fullthrottlev6.com/forums...splay.php?f=16
__________________
1969 Camaro 350, Trickflow heads, ST-10 4spd, Hotchkis suspension, Baer SS brake kit, moser 12bolt
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old Jul 6th, 09, 08:49 AM
Grim_Reaper Grim_Reaper is offline

Ric
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: south carolina
Posts: 15
Default Re: Can you put a Turbo in a V6?

couple of guy around my area running 700 hp v6 camaros... twin turbos
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Team Camaro Tech > Generation Specific Forums > Fourth Generation      Current Topic: Can you put a Turbo in a V6?
Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Camaro Tech forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
NOTE we receive a lot of registrations with bad email addresses. IF you do not receive your confirmation email you will not be able to post. contact support and we will try and help.
Be sure you enter a valid email address and check your spam folder as well.

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 AM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com