Turbo 400 filter change question - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Transmission & Driveline Transmissions and Differentials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 4th, 09, 02:23 PM
jeffs68camaro jeffs68camaro is offline
Senior Tech

Jeff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 216
Default Turbo 400 filter change question

Today i pulled the pan/filter from my turbo 400 for the 1st time. Now im used to fords where the filter is bolted solid against the valve body so im not sure if this thing is correct or not?? The filter hung from a rubber hose on the drivers front and then it had a single shouldered bolt aprox 1/4" going thru a oval hole on it and securing it to the valve body. But even with this bolt tight the filter is at an angle and can move up/down quite a bit. I assume that when you put the pan in that it lays on the pan bottom but it seems to me it would bounce around like mad in there when you go over bumps. Is this correct??? Seems weird to me.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Sep 4th, 09, 03:50 PM
Steve69SS396's Avatar
Steve69SS396 Steve69SS396 is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Steve
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: Turbo 400 filter change question

That is correct.
__________________
'69 Camaro - 640HP 427 SBC Dart Iron Eagle 9.325" block, Cola crank, Lunati 6" Pro Mod rods, JE pistons (13.8:1), Total Seal rings, hand ported AFR 210 heads, Jesel belt drive, custom ground 4-7 swap solid roller 274/286 @ .050" with .660" lift, Dart single plane, 1050 Dominator, Stef's #1705R oil pan, NOS big shot, Lemons 2" primary 3-1/2" collector, Coan 8" converter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Sep 4th, 09, 06:25 PM
bikedude3 bikedude3 is offline
Senior Tech

clayton hicker
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: selma,oregon
Posts: 445
Default Re: Turbo 400 filter change question

thx for posting that.im about to chang mine and would be scratching my head when i found it
__________________
clayton hicker
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Sep 4th, 09, 09:16 PM
jeffs68camaro jeffs68camaro is offline
Senior Tech

Jeff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 216
Default Re: Turbo 400 filter change question

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Sep 5th, 09, 05:35 PM
hereitis67 hereitis67 is offline
Senior Tech

bill
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: parlin,nj
Posts: 1,902
Default Re: Turbo 400 filter change question

yes it flops around. if you got a deep pan on it it will have a spacer on top of the filter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Sep 5th, 09, 05:38 PM
jeffs68camaro jeffs68camaro is offline
Senior Tech

Jeff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 216
Default Re: Turbo 400 filter change question

There was a orangish colored tube that pushed into the filter, is that the spacer? Or do you mean a spacer at the bolt? Im trying to figure out if my pan is deep or regular. Its aprox 2.5" from the lip to the bottom.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Sep 5th, 09, 05:46 PM
hereitis67 hereitis67 is offline
Senior Tech

bill
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: parlin,nj
Posts: 1,902
Default Re: Turbo 400 filter change question

a 2 inch pan is stock. if a deep pan it would be around 4 inches deep. above filter there would be like a 1.5 -2.0 spacer on top of it.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 AM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com