Bypass horn relay & voltage regulator - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 9th, 10, 05:57 PM
camaro434 camaro434 is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 344
Default Bypass an external voltage regulator

How do you bypass an external voltage regulator when installing a new alternator? Wiring diagrams would help.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Feb 9th, 10, 07:09 PM
DOUG G DOUG G is offline
Moderator

 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Harford Co, Maryland. USA
Posts: 15,211
Default Re: Bypass an external voltage regulator

Here's some reading.... http://www.camaros.net/techref/ftecref14.html
__________________
68 Camaro~LSx
1.546 60'
7.132 @ 94.43 660'
11.327 @ 116.79.
Best to Date....
RedЯum <-Pics
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Of8WV...ature=youtu.be <~More here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Feb 9th, 10, 07:28 PM
jr68's Avatar
jr68 jr68 is offline
Team Member

Jerry R.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: The Great Lakes
Posts: 5,825
Default Re: Bypass an external voltage regulator

hey Doug thats the diagram I used to convert mine, worked great.
__________________
my Magnaflow X-pipe system sound clip, click the link

http://s258.photobucket.com/albums/h...naflowclip.mp4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Feb 10th, 10, 04:49 AM
HwyStarJoe's Avatar
HwyStarJoe HwyStarJoe is offline
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Taxes York
Posts: 15,342
Default Re: Bypass an external voltage regulator

Some of the after market suppliers such as Ricks offer a small, inexpensive harness for quickly modifying the existing wiring harness for internal regulated systems. They're a few bucks... plug & play. I don't know if anyone has used one or how convenient they are, but I have one that I haven't installed yet.
Check it out.
__________________
*---------------------------------*

STREET MACHINES OF ROCHESTER

SEMA ACTION NETWORK

UNITED SERVICES ORGANIZATION (USO)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Feb 14th, 10, 03:04 PM
camaro434 camaro434 is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 344
Default Bypass horn relay & voltage regulator

I am going to explain this the best I can. I want to bypass the voltage regulator because I went with a new alternator with internal voltage regulator. Next I want to bypass the horn relay because it is totally rusted inside. My car won't start with all the wires disconnected. So what wires need to be connected together for the car to start?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Feb 14th, 10, 03:32 PM
Everett#2390's Avatar
Everett#2390 Everett#2390 is offline
Moderator

<Jake 68's Rule
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Va Beach VA
Posts: 27,192
Default Re: Bypass horn relay & voltage regulator

Mad Electric has the method of bypassing the ext regulator.
The two red wires screwed together by the screw on the horn relay buss bar will transfer power to the rest of the car.
__________________
Give a man a rescued dog for the health of his soul.
'With enough thrust, pigs can fly.' Other Stuff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Feb 14th, 10, 05:51 PM
camaro434 camaro434 is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 344
Default Re: Bypass horn relay & voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Everett#2390 View Post
Mad Electric has the method of bypassing the ext regulator.
The two red wires screwed together by the screw on the horn relay buss bar will transfer power to the rest of the car.
They don't have wiring diagrams to bypass the voltage regulator.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Feb 14th, 10, 05:53 PM
camaro434 camaro434 is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 344
Default Re: Bypass an external voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOUG G View Post
This is wrong, My wiring doesn't look like there diagrams. I tried this it does not work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Feb 14th, 10, 06:52 PM
DjD's Avatar
DjD DjD is offline
Retired

Dennis
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 25,156
Default Re: Bypass horn relay & voltage regulator

Take a look in our Tech Reference area above on the red tab bar... Here's a direct link to a 1 wire conversion, don't know if it covers your alt but have a look...
http://www.camaros.net/techref/ftecref14.html
__________________
...Dennis
www.camaroslimited.com

"Don't take life so serious, you won't get out alive..."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Feb 14th, 10, 07:07 PM
camaro434 camaro434 is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 344
Default Re: Bypass horn relay & voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by DjD View Post
Take a look in our Tech Reference area above on the red tab bar... Here's a direct link to a 1 wire conversion, don't know if it covers your alt but have a look...
http://www.camaros.net/techref/ftecref14.html
I tried this but it does not work. This info is not right either.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Feb 14th, 10, 07:45 PM
jr68's Avatar
jr68 jr68 is offline
Team Member

Jerry R.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: The Great Lakes
Posts: 5,825
Default Re: Bypass an external voltage regulator

It's what I used and works great
__________________
my Magnaflow X-pipe system sound clip, click the link

http://s258.photobucket.com/albums/h...naflowclip.mp4
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Feb 15th, 10, 03:01 AM
Everett#2390's Avatar
Everett#2390 Everett#2390 is offline
Moderator

<Jake 68's Rule
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Va Beach VA
Posts: 27,192
Default Re: Bypass horn relay & voltage regulator

Do you still have the original harness?
If you do, at the ext regulator connector, jumper the two outside wires together.
Follow along here:
http://www.madelectrical.com/electri...evymain1.shtml
__________________
Give a man a rescued dog for the health of his soul.
'With enough thrust, pigs can fly.' Other Stuff
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Feb 15th, 10, 03:26 AM
Everett#2390's Avatar
Everett#2390 Everett#2390 is offline
Moderator

<Jake 68's Rule
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Va Beach VA
Posts: 27,192
Default Re: Bypass an external voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro434 View Post
My wiring doesn't look like there diagrams. I tried this it does not work.
What does your wiring look like?
__________________
Give a man a rescued dog for the health of his soul.
'With enough thrust, pigs can fly.' Other Stuff
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Feb 15th, 10, 05:36 AM
camaro434 camaro434 is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 344
Default Re: Bypass an external voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Everett#2390 View Post
What does your wiring look like?
From this link: http://www.camaros.net/techref/ftecref14.html The white wire & the orange (which is red) does not get capped off. They jumper together. This person does not know what they are doing.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Feb 15th, 10, 07:08 AM
DjD's Avatar
DjD DjD is offline
Retired

Dennis
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 25,156
Default Re: Bypass an external voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro434 View Post
From this link: http://www.camaros.net/techref/ftecref14.html The white wire & the orange (which is red) does not get capped off. They jumper together. This person does not know what they are doing.
Greg that tech info has been tried and true by many! If it doesn't work for your situation it doesn't mean the info is bad...
__________________
...Dennis
www.camaroslimited.com

"Don't take life so serious, you won't get out alive..."
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 PM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com