Auto Insurance

Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

Old May 13th, 10, 11:26 PM
Tech Team

Ian

Arrow Inline 6 (250) Power Steering

Hey,

I'm planning on adding a power steering setup on my very base model 67 Camaro with 250 Inline 6. I am a complete amateur with mechanics but am slowing learning. I have found several other threads that talk about the required parts and that a 3rd gen box is the way to go. I understand that with my I6 I'm also going to want/need specific I6 brackets to mount the pump and box. I'm trying to put this together for as little cash as possible so I if I don't need to replace a part or if there is a cheaper alternative part I would love to know.

Do I REQUIRE an Inline 6 pump or can I use a V8 pump? I would have just bought a V8 one but I noticed on ricks that there is a separate part and number for each. If I can use a v8 pump, what would the difference be compared to the I6?

Also, would I still use the Moog K6582 Long Pitman Arm with my I6? The Moog site says that part is for a V8 so I just want to be sure I'm not buying useless parts.

Other than the Pump, Pitman Arm and various brackets is there anything else that would be different for my I6?

Also if anyone has any pictures (big ones) of their I6 power steering setup please feel free to post them. Thank you in advance for any info you can provide.

IaN
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 14th, 10, 04:20 AM
Senior Tech

Default Re: Inline 6 (250) Power Steering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian67 View Post
Hey,