Oil pressure line?? - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Engine General Engine Discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 01:43 PM
Speedjester Speedjester is offline
Senior Tech

Hector
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mass
Posts: 835
Default Oil pressure line??

Does anyone make a copper or steel line for the mechanical oil pressure gauge..

Had a real close call today and need to find a way to shield the plastic line or change it out entirely... It is less than half inch from the header...


Thanks in advance..
__________________
68 Camaro Coup, BBC ,2457 headers, th400 , ford 9", Hotchkiss connectors,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 01:50 PM
john68 john68 is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

John
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 3,238
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

You can get them in anything you want,
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 01:51 PM
Steve69SS396's Avatar
Steve69SS396 Steve69SS396 is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Steve
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

http://www.summitracing.com/search/D...?Ns=Rank%7cAsc
__________________
'69 Camaro - 640HP 427 SBC Dart Iron Eagle 9.325" block, Cola crank, Lunati 6" Pro Mod rods, JE pistons (13.8:1), Total Seal rings, hand ported AFR 210 heads, Jesel belt drive, custom ground 4-7 swap solid roller 274/286 @ .050" with .660" lift, Dart single plane, 1050 Dominator, Stef's #1705R oil pan, NOS big shot, Lemons 2" primary 3-1/2" collector, Coan 8" converter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 01:52 PM
Z15CAM Z15CAM is offline
Senior Tech

Ron
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North Channel Lake Huron
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Do NOT use Copper or Nylon in the Engine Compartment. I can't say Steel is any better. I recommend Hi-Pressure Hydraulic Rubber Hose to a 3 Outlet Bronze Adapter mounted in the Firewall then run Nylon to the Mechanical Cab Gauge (continue with the Hydraulic Hose under the Dash if Room Permits it). Use the 2nd Bronze Engine Compartment outlet to mount the Idiot Light Oil Pressure Sensor.

Copper, Nylon and Steel Oil Lines Break in the Engine Compartment as the engine Torques against the Firewall & Flex the Oil Line. Been there done that and learned my lesson years ago.
__________________
Z15CAM - There was a Viper in my Rear View
This is my 701/2 z28
http://www.flickr.com/photos/28082975@N04

Last edited by Z15CAM; Apr 29th, 11 at 02:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 02:27 PM
Speedjester Speedjester is offline
Senior Tech

Hector
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mass
Posts: 835
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Will the 1/8 Cooper line use the same fittings as the nylon line I have now..

I don't think steel braided will last this closet the header
__________________
68 Camaro Coup, BBC ,2457 headers, th400 , ford 9", Hotchkiss connectors,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 03:26 PM
rj68RS rj68RS is offline
Senior Tech

Russ
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gilroy,CA
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Do you have any tractor or hydraulic repair companies near you ? If so, take the fittings to them and they can make a custom line for you to your exact specs. It would be a high pressure rubber line with a braided cover. I do this all the time with oil, coolant, and hydraulic lines for my motor coach. I've paid as low as 25.00 and as high as 150.00 depending on length and whether I wanted straight, 90, 135, 180, or swivel fittings.
__________________
Russ (RJ)
The Garlic Capital, Gilroy,CA

(sold June 15,2014) 1968 RS convertible that is not quite stock
Pics: my drop top driver
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 04:31 PM
mark191 mark191 is offline
Senior Tech

mark
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 509
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Is your line coming straight out of the block above the oil filter? If so use a 90 degree fitting out of the block and run the braided autometer line
__________________
68 originally ss (straight six) 406,Afr210,Bullet solid roller,rpm airgap,QF750,th400,3.73 Eaton posi.11.02 @ 122.74
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 07:04 PM
Orange68SS Orange68SS is offline
Senior Tech

Bill
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Diamond Bar, Ca
Posts: 323
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

I just went to an auto part store and had a copper line made up for me with all of the fittings.
__________________
68 SS Camaro - 468 BB, Tremec 5 Speed, Wilwood Brakes, Curry 9 inch (370 gear)
http://s593.photobucket.com/albums/tt17/orange68SS/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Apr 29th, 11, 07:28 PM
Geezer Geezer is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Garden Ridge Tx. USA
Posts: 1,927
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Napa has them in a kit but it's a fixed length.
__________________
Ron
The Junk Yard Dog
An exercise in interchangeability on a Well optioned 67 SS 350 vert.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Apr 30th, 11, 02:27 PM
zdld17 zdld17 is online now
Gold Lifetime Member

Don
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 2 Dog Town in West Texas
Posts: 9,799
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Did copper and plastic for 30 years but when thought of the copper taking the vibration and plastic possiabily melting in high heat, I went to a small steel braided line from the motor thru the firewall into the gauge. It may be an over kill but at least I know its safe.
__________________
Don
TC # 349
Zdld17:69 Z/RS,306, NOR141111, 9N554XXX, 12A, X3G, 59/59,723, AFR 195,CCC282/290HR, TKO 600, BU1122B1E
http://s102.photobucket.com/albums/m...t=115_1577.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Apr 30th, 11, 02:47 PM
Speedjester Speedjester is offline
Senior Tech

Hector
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mass
Posts: 835
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Went to the speed shop picked up the copper line... Attached to block coiled the line three times to help with vibration.. then through grommet in firewall ..

Noticed when I first started it with the new copper line that the gauge read 20lbs for about 20 seconds before shooting up to the usual 65..is this normal until the air clears the line or is the gauge on it's way out??
__________________
68 Camaro Coup, BBC ,2457 headers, th400 , ford 9", Hotchkiss connectors,
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 6th, 11, 09:31 AM
JohnZ JohnZ is offline
Team Member

John
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Washington, Michigan USA
Posts: 7,693
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedjester View Post
Went to the speed shop picked up the copper line...
Copper tubing is a BAD idea for an oil pressure line; it will work-harden with vibration and eventually fracture - GM never used it. GM used copper-plated steel lines.

Paragon sells a complete kit for big-blocks with a coiled copper-plated steel line and the fittings for both ends, listed for '67 Corvette usage.

__________________
JohnZ
CRG
'69 Z/28 Fathom Green
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 6th, 11, 10:33 AM
Notalent Notalent is offline
Senior Tech

Brandon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DFW/LBC
Posts: 195
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Say no to copper and nylon. You want a good steel braided line. This is what ya want and it will come with different fittings. I swapped mine from a nylon line which the car came with and the fittings this came with matched up.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/ATM-3228/
__________________
71 Chevelle 496 Stroker Hyd Roller 675HP, TH400 3500 Stall, 3.73 12 Bolt.

ATK HP ENGINES
WWW.HIGH-PERFORMANCE-ENGINES.COM
Custom Built Street-Strip-Racing Engines
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 6th, 11, 10:35 AM
go2fast go2fast is offline
Senior Tech

Jim
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 1,915
Default Re: Oil pressure line??

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnZ View Post
Copper tubing is a BAD idea for an oil pressure line; it will work-harden with vibration and eventually fracture - GM never used it. GM used copper-plated steel lines.

Paragon sells a complete kit for big-blocks with a coiled copper-plated steel line and the fittings for both ends, listed for '67 Corvette usage.


What he says ^^^
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 PM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com