New dist help - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Engine General Engine Discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 28th, 12, 10:36 PM
mjlynch71 mjlynch71 is offline
Senior Tech

Jerod
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mount Vernon
Posts: 486
Default New dist help

I am going to replace my current points dist in my 1969 Camaro with a mild 350 street/show car. I found out that my breaker plate and vaccum advance is locked and not working. I am looking at the Pertronix II. I do not want a ignition box in the engine bay. I was having issues when I hit the gas it would pop or bogg down, then get thru it and then go. I checked all plugs and all were clean, new wires. Then i took the dist cap off and found the breaker plate locked and no change in idle when the vaccum advance was unhooked, no change in engine at all. Motor is a 350, bored to 358, Vortec heads, Edelbrock Performer intake, Lunati hydr flattapped cam part number 00017LK, Edelbrock 650, and roller lifters. The motor has right at 950 miles on it, with cam addative ZZDP brand added during oil changes. Is the Pertronix dist a good choice. Thanks, Jerod
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 03:12 AM
Hothead Hothead is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Rocky
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: melbourne
Posts: 195
Default Re: New dist help

Not sure about the Petronix but I opted for a HEI Dizzy in my 67 350, got rid of the ignition module and coil but had to do a bit of panel beating on the fire wall coz the cap is fairly big. I had timing and ignition problems with MSD that was in there but since changing to the hei it runs like a dream and cost $270 AUD which I thought was good value.
__________________
What's a mid life crisis

67 SS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 04:39 AM
SixtyAte's Avatar
SixtyAte SixtyAte is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Kevin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: S. Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 5,522
Default Re: New dist help

I run a Mallory Unilite setup and its been great for about 15 years now! I blew one module because I didn't disconnect the cables when I jumped the battery with a hot start load on the charger. No pounding the firewall needed ! I have the Mallory Distributor and Coil. See link to Summit below....

Kev

http://www.summitracing.com/search/b...FQJx4AodgEUAzw
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 06:57 AM
click's Avatar
click click is offline
Moderator .. Jim

Jim
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 15,204
Default Re: New dist help

Same here as Kev...Unilite system, works like a charm, fits like a glove.
__________________
Click..is Jim..former owner of a 69RS-LM1 350/255 - 700r
"There will come a time when you believe everything is finished,
That will be the beginning." Louis L'Amour

Photos of my Camaro for viewing
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 07:01 AM
Vega$69's Avatar
Vega$69 Vega$69 is offline
Moderator

John
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,075
Default Re: New dist help

MSD 8360

No Box required and has built in programmable rev limiter.
__________________
69 Pro Tour - LS7/T56
69 LS2 Pro Tour (BUILDING)
69 Z28/RS Tribute355/5 Speed (SOLD)
69 RS Clone 427/TH400 (SOLD)
67 RSZZ502/5 Speed (SOLD)
69 Camaro 406 SBC/TH400 (SOLD)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 07:47 AM
mahunt mahunt is offline
Senior Tech

Michael
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,574
Default Re: New dist help

Remove your current distributor and fix it. Then install the Pertronix. You'll likely have to bash in your firewall if you install the HEI.

After taking out the distributor, drift out the pin that holds the bottom gear on (noticing that the alignment dimple indexes the rotor pointer on top). The distributor can now be stripped, cleaned and repaired if necessary. Put everything back together being mindful of the gear dimple/rotor alignment. Convert to the Pertronix (which I run) and swap out the resistor coil wire for a regular wire to get 12V.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 08:08 AM
GoCamaro27 GoCamaro27 is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Carmichael, CA
Posts: 89
Default Re: New dist help

Quote:
Originally Posted by click View Post
Same here as Kev...Unilite system, works like a charm, fits like a glove.

I agree. I had one in my '67 Camaro for the 350, and it worked great. I'm now going to use it on the ZZ430 for my '55 Bel Air.
__________________
Relax, all right? My dad's a TV repairman, got an ultimate set of tools. I can fix it.

1967 Camaro RS ZL1 427/4 spped
1967 Camaro RS 327 L30 4 speed
1955 Bel Air 4-door, 350/TH700R4
1969 Camaro convertible X11 Indy 500 Pace Car, matching numbers 396/4 speed
1970 Camaro RS
My Mom's 1978 Lincoln Continental Mark V Diamond Jubilee Edition
2000 Rolls Royce Silver Seraph
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 09:15 AM
bigblockragtop bigblockragtop is offline
Senior Tech

mike
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: west coast
Posts: 847
Default Re: New dist help

From your original post you said when you hit the gas it popped and bogged this could also be a faulty carb squirter(accelerator pump). I have the msd distributor but my set up is no where near stock.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 10:56 AM
Steptoe Steptoe is offline
Senior Tech

Steps
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 12,845
Default Re: New dist help

Quote:
mild 350 street/show car.
As suggested above, repair the current unit, and the pionts have been reliable up to now right? why change?
Nothing wrong with the GM HEI 4 pin module units....the clearance with firewall is usually because of incorrect engine mounts and/ or the lower rear trans mount having the lower hight option mount....the plastic clip that goes over the tops of the HT dizzy boots may need shaving off the back if want to use that....and needs to be located with the cam in such a position the VA pionts to just behind the passenger headlight and timed so the flat sides run near parrall to the firewall.

Had u checked that the VA was not leaking?

HEIs out of the box are setup for EGR/ polution addons and ported vaccuum, If dont have these pollution addons of the '70s, the dizzy needs to be re dialed in for non pollution/egr manifold vaccuum specs....u may drop it in and will 'work' that doesnt mean it is working correctly or as best it can.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 02:36 PM
L30 327 L30 327 is offline
Senior Tech

Eric
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 466
Default Re: New dist help

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahunt View Post
Remove your current distributor and fix it. Then install the Pertronix. You'll likely have to bash in your firewall if you install the HEI.

After taking out the distributor, drift out the pin that holds the bottom gear on (noticing that the alignment dimple indexes the rotor pointer on top). The distributor can now be stripped, cleaned and repaired if necessary. Put everything back together being mindful of the gear dimple/rotor alignment. Convert to the Pertronix (which I run) and swap out the resistor coil wire for a regular wire to get 12V.
X2, on the Pertronics Ignitor, it is nice and simple and very reliable,I've been running one for nearly 20 years and have never had to do ANYTHING to it. Great performance enhancement too.
__________________
'69 Camaro, w/'67 L30 327 .030, L79 cam, 700DP, M20, 3.73 12 Bolt
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 04:09 PM
jcfcamaro jcfcamaro is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

jared
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fairfax, Mo
Posts: 796
Default Re: New dist help

I'd stay away from a pertronics ! I have a brand new in my 355ci built mild,and have tried everything to dial it in ,only to find out that something is wrong with the vac adv. With the vac adv unplugged it idles great,but when you plug in the vac adv it starts idling rough and surges up and down!! The vac adv works with the timing light,but something is wrong. I wish now I would have went with a msd or better . The only reason I went with a pertronics was so I would still have the factory look. I haven't called them yet,but it sat in the box for a year or so before I put it in . FRESH BUILD
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 05:07 PM
rick57 rick57 is offline
Tech Team

RICK
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 49
Default Re: New dist help

I used a pertronix with the ignitor 2. I ran a new wire for 12volts. Have had no problems with it. It fits nicely at the firewall. Simple and clean.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 07:55 PM
1971ls6 1971ls6 is offline
Senior Tech

Morgan
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 305
Default Re: New dist help

Buy the crane xri and leave your resistor wire in place, it also comes with a rev limiter
__________________
69 Copo 4spd 12.27@118 1.95 60ft on F70/14
71LS6 vette 12.20@118 PSMCDR 2012 SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Nov 29th, 12, 09:01 PM
Steptoe Steptoe is offline
Senior Tech

Steps
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 12,845
Default Re: New dist help

Quote:
only to find out that something is wrong with the vac adv. With the vac adv unplugged it idles great,but when you plug in the vac adv it starts idling rough and surges up and down!!
This is not an issue with the VA it an issue with dialing the engine in... either the VA is working in the wrong vaccuum range or the intial is in the wrong range or springs too light or combo of 2 or 3.
This is assuming when u suck on the VA tube it holds a vaccuum.

I dont comment on a pertronics simily because have never worked one as as the are very rare in this country...but regardles of brand, the symtoms are not of faulty parts.

The VA , assuming no EGR, pollution stuff, therefore manifold vaccuum should be all in at no more than 1" above idling on intial no VA attached....
If the VA is partly in at idle then the VA pulls partly out , rpms increase, the idle circuits run aiout of fuel, the rpms drop, the va pulls in...etc similar with too light springs.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Nov 30th, 12, 02:13 AM
Cdminter55 Cdminter55 is offline
Senior Tech

Doug
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hopewell, Virginia
Posts: 296
Default Re: New dist help

Check out this distributor from MSD. http://www.summitracing.com/parts/ms...make/chevrolet. This will fit in your car without beating on your firewall. You will also need the MSD Blaster 2 coil part# MSD-8202 for $37.95. I have used a MSD distributor in my 67 Camaro for years with no problems.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 AM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com