Wire from tranny to dash... - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 16th, 13, 09:35 PM
67Carl's Avatar
67Carl 67Carl is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Carl
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 695
Default Wire from tranny to dash...

Planning all the steps for my gauge install, thinking it through before I start. I'm going to replace the mechanical speedo with an electric one. Out with the cable, in with the wires. Question: how/where do I run the wires from the trans to the dash? Shouldn't they be covered or protected in some way? Below is the sender that attaches to the trans... Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	117.9 KB
ID:	31845  
__________________
1967 350, Hurst TKO 600 5 speed, 12 bolt 3:55 posi, RS added
http://photobucket.com/1967_Camaro_Carl
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Jan 17th, 13, 01:21 AM
Steiner Steiner is offline
Senior Tech

Steiner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lyman, SC
Posts: 7,200
Default Re: Wire from tranny to dash...

This only applies if it's your TKO you're doing this with.....

If this is for your TKO it should already have the provision for hooking up the electric speedo and all you need is the plug. The trans already has a sending unit installed in it. There is a small 90 degree black plug on the side of the tailshaft. You use a GM coolant temperature sender pigtail like this for it:
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/pco-5615pt

Ground one wire and run the other wire to the speedo. With an Autometer and most other gauges you just ground one wire and run the other to the speedometer gauge input. It doesn't matter which one gets grounded. You can just protect the wire with a long piece of that corrugated wire wrap or something. Then calibrate speedo as required.

You will also need to plug the old mechanical output hole with something like this:
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/sd...7072/overview/
__________________
'69 Camaro X11 Street Car
Dart 400 - AFR-195's - 224/224 HR - Powerjection III
TKO-600 - Moser 3.42 - Detroit Truetrac
538 lb-ft - 500 hp
www.cmengines.com
'69 Camaro X44 Beater - SFT 327 - M20 - Moser 4.10
'02 Z/28 vert - stock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 17th, 13, 08:04 AM
BPOS BPOS is offline
Senior Tech

Al
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 9,284
Default Re: Wire from tranny to dash...

For my lockup and trans & temp gauge wires I ran them forward in the tunnel, up the firewall a bit. I drilled a hole in the firewall and installed a grommet.
__________________
69 PJ Convert, RS added, 383, Pro-Filer 195s, 2004R, 3.73 posi 8.5, C6/LS1 Brakes, etc "Big hitter, The Lama....long." Carl Spackler
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 17th, 13, 08:41 AM
madmax87's Avatar
madmax87 madmax87 is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 2,170
Default Re: Wire from tranny to dash...

I have the same sender in my 69. I drilled a hole in the tranny tunnel almost straight up from the sender and put a grommet in the hole. I did run the wires in the plastic conduit you can get at any local auto store. I then ran the wires through the console up to the dash. Guess this would only work if you have a console. I would still recommend running the wires in the conduit.
__________________
Dennis
69 Z/28. 302DZ, Autogear M22, Red w/black stripes.
69 Camaro, ZZ4, 700R4, 8.5 3:42 posi, X11
87 IROC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 17th, 13, 08:42 AM
prostreet69camaro's Avatar
prostreet69camaro prostreet69camaro is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Mike
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 5,581
Default Re: Wire from tranny to dash...

I also run my wires on the bottom of the floorboard then to the lower part of the firewall.

I like this type wire protectors or heat shrink tubing.
http://www.mcmaster.com/#standard-ca...eeving/=l2qyy8

http://www.mcmaster.com/#standard-ca...eeving/=l2r0hq

Here are the line clamps I use.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/sum-g1881
__________________
Mike
69 Camaro Prostreet - purple w/ghost flames , 502 w/ 871 blower

http://s268.photobucket.com/home/pro...maro/allalbums
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 17th, 13, 10:54 AM
67Carl's Avatar
67Carl 67Carl is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Carl
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 695
Default Re: Wire from tranny to dash...

Thanks everyone - this is the stuff I'd like to learn before I start the project. The pigtail and plug has been ordered and the mech sender is on the way back. I've got plenty of convoluted tubing and heat shrink tubing so I'll use that. Initially I thought maybe up through the hole with the shift lever but not sure how feasible that is, so I'll use one of the other suggested routes (I do have a console).
__________________
1967 350, Hurst TKO 600 5 speed, 12 bolt 3:55 posi, RS added
http://photobucket.com/1967_Camaro_Carl
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Jan 17th, 13, 01:12 PM
Steiner Steiner is offline
Senior Tech

Steiner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lyman, SC
Posts: 7,200
Default Re: Wire from tranny to dash...

My wideband guage wire is routed up through the shifter and the boot/ring holds it fine.
__________________
'69 Camaro X11 Street Car
Dart 400 - AFR-195's - 224/224 HR - Powerjection III
TKO-600 - Moser 3.42 - Detroit Truetrac
538 lb-ft - 500 hp
www.cmengines.com
'69 Camaro X44 Beater - SFT 327 - M20 - Moser 4.10
'02 Z/28 vert - stock
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Jan 17th, 13, 01:23 PM
prostreet69camaro's Avatar
prostreet69camaro prostreet69camaro is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Mike
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 5,581
Default Re: Wire from tranny to dash...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 67Carl View Post
Thanks everyone - this is the stuff I'd like to learn before I start the project. The pigtail and plug has been ordered and the mech sender is on the way back. I've got plenty of convoluted tubing and heat shrink tubing so I'll use that. Initially I thought maybe up through the hole with the shift lever but not sure how feasible that is, so I'll use one of the other suggested routes (I do have a console).
Since you have a console I would drill a hole thru the trans tunnel. Install a rubber grommet and run the wires inside the car.

Install heat shrink on the wires under the car.
__________________
Mike
69 Camaro Prostreet - purple w/ghost flames , 502 w/ 871 blower

http://s268.photobucket.com/home/pro...maro/allalbums
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 AM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com