1968 Base Camaro: Gas guage, dealer-installed clock, cig. lighter ?'s - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro

Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro

Auto Insurance

Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

Old Jan 25th, 13, 11:22 AM
Senior Tech

George

Default 1968 Base Camaro: Gas guage, dealer-installed clock, cig. lighter ?'s

First off I'm new to this car and don't know old Chevy's at all so try to dumb it down for me if possible. I do, however, have a meter and know how to use it.

The gas gauge doesn't quite work... sort of.

It moves a little when you turn on the car but it's pointing all the way to the right. I haven't even filled the car up completely yet so I don't know if it changes how far it moves when I do fill it. Regardless it's pointing to the right at all times.

Someone mentioned a possible ground problem but would that cause this? Would it be something more mechanical in the tank itself?

Clock: Doesn't seem to be working: Where does it get it's power? Any ideas so I don't have to pull the carpet?

Cig lighter: How do you take it out? It's probably just a matter of cleaning it up but if I need to replace it completely I'll need to know how to remove it.

Thanks in advance, guys! My wife has wanted a 1st gen camaro since she was a little girl. I've wanted one a long time myself. Now that we have it I want to fix a few annoyances before the spring time when we can enjoy it.
Advertisement

Old Jan 25th, 13, 11:37 AM
Gold Lifetime Member

Jason

Default Re: 1968 Base Camaro: Gas guage, dealer-installed clock, cig. lighter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gbauer View Post
First off I'm new to this car and don't know old Chevy's at all so try to dumb it down for me if possible. I do, however, have a meter and know how to use it.

The gas gauge doesn't quite work... sort of.