rough idle - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
  



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Fourth Generation 1993-2002

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 25th, 13, 09:41 PM
david_23 david_23 is offline

david
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 2
Default rough idle

hello everyone,
i have an 01 v6 3800, about a week ago it started running a bit rough but would go away immediately, shortly after CEL came up for maf sensor, replaced and erased code. after running it for not even 2 miles, it started running rough again, stumbling upon accel and shaking really hard at idle. another CEL came up, p0300, random misfires. replaced plugs and wires, but didnt help. then removed throttle body, cleaned it up a bit and drove around for a bit and it was running great. when i came to a stop it started shaking again but the CEL did not come up until i accelerated. ive been told i may need to replace coils.

is there a certain order the coils go in? and are there any other possible causes?

any help is greatly appreciated and thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #2  
Old Jan 26th, 13, 06:27 AM
Everett#2390's Avatar
Everett#2390 Everett#2390 is online now
Moderator

<Jake 68's Rule
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Va Beach VA
Posts: 27,447
Default Re: rough idle

Welcome, David.
A coil is a coil, usually replaced as a set. Could also be the ign module the coils sit in, or plug wires.
__________________
Give a man a rescued dog for the health of his soul.
'With enough thrust, pigs can fly.' Other Stuff
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old Jan 26th, 13, 10:58 AM
david_23 david_23 is offline

david
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 2
Default Re: rough idle

thank you for your help, i will try both.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old Jan 28th, 13, 10:23 AM
davisrus davisrus is offline

Mark
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 11
Default Re: rough idle

I had a randon misfire code that I couldn't figure out for a while. It turned out to be the fuel pressure regulator leaking fuel into the vacuum line.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old Jan 28th, 13, 12:53 PM
SpyderAuto SpyderAuto is offline

Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 58
Default Re: rough idle

Misfire codes suck, because they can literally mean anything.

Something that is overlooked a lot is the fuel filter. I had a misfire code... replaced my fuel filter and it went away never to return.

Coil packs can also do this.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old Feb 13th, 13, 05:20 PM
tiller83 tiller83 is offline
Tech Team

hans
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: louisiana
Posts: 46
Default Re: rough idle

6,3 front, 2,5 middle, 4,1 rear, wires go on in that order also. I recomend changing to MSD or Accel, for not much more $ than stock repl parts.
__________________
2000,3.8L,5spd,t-top,black,optima red-top,euro looking tail lights,duals out driver side,

83 bronco(tiller),351w-cam-msd-Int/exh,8" lift with a SAS, lockers,4.56/35's,many other things.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old Feb 24th, 13, 10:38 AM
Sniperf250 Sniperf250 is offline

Jim
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Default

My 97 was doing that and was pulling idk how many codes figured out the fuel pump was to blame one of the power connectors had corroded through allowing the pump to pump fuel back into the tank instead of to the motor so you might want to check into that


Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old Feb 25th, 13, 09:31 AM
SpyderAuto SpyderAuto is offline

Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 58
Default Re: rough idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperf250 View Post
My 97 was doing that and was pulling idk how many codes figured out the fuel pump was to blame one of the power connectors had corroded through allowing the pump to pump fuel back into the tank instead of to the motor so you might want to check into that


Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalk
This is interesting, I've never heard of something like this before.

Just another to check... thanks for the heads up.
__________________
Like us on Facebook!

Phone: (626)934-8884
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old Feb 27th, 13, 06:04 PM
Sniperf250 Sniperf250 is offline

Jim
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Default

No problem


Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
3800, 4th generation, p0300, rough idle
Team Camaro Tech > Generation Specific Forums > Fourth Generation      Current Topic: rough idle
Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Camaro Tech forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
NOTE we receive a lot of registrations with bad email addresses. IF you do not receive your confirmation email you will not be able to post. contact support and we will try and help.
Be sure you enter a valid email address and check your spam folder as well.

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 AM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com