Dash cluster ground - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 17th, 13, 01:19 PM
Mike68RS Mike68RS is offline
Senior Tech

Mike
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Motor City
Posts: 1,092
Default Dash cluster ground

I need to add a ground to my dash cluster. Does it matter which screw I connect the ground wire to? The dash is already installed now, so it would be easier if I could attach it to the one on the far left, which i can get to from the back, without removing the cluster.



Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Feb 17th, 13, 03:56 PM
69-Pace's Avatar
69-Pace 69-Pace is offline
Moderator

Brian
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hartford Connecticut USA
Posts: 5,904
Default Re: Dash cluster ground

Does not make a difference which one you use.
__________________
1969 Z11 Pace Car - L48 350cid/300hp - 4 Speed Muncie 12 bolt rear
http://69pace.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Feb 17th, 13, 04:03 PM
john68 john68 is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

John
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: Dash cluster ground

Quote:
Originally Posted by 69-Pace View Post
Does not make a difference which one you use.

True, but if the ground does't go to the bright light socket it won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Feb 17th, 13, 04:35 PM
Mike68RS Mike68RS is offline
Senior Tech

Mike
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Motor City
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Dash cluster ground

Quote:
Originally Posted by john68 View Post
True, but if the ground does't go to the bright light socket it won't work.
Thanks guys. John, it looks like the socket is grounded to the cluster housing by a metal strap, so if I use that far left screw I should be good, correct?

Thanks again.
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Feb 17th, 13, 04:48 PM
Sauron67MM Sauron67MM is online now
Senior Tech

Scott
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 5,721
Default Re: Dash cluster ground

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike68RS View Post
Thanks guys. John, it looks like the socket is grounded to the cluster housing by a metal strap, so if I use that far left screw I should be good, correct?

Thanks again.
Mike
That metal strap grounds the whole cluster through contact with the dash and center attachment screw. Are you adding a second ground as insurance?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Feb 17th, 13, 05:11 PM
1968RallySport's Avatar
1968RallySport 1968RallySport is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Daryl
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 734
Default Re: Dash cluster ground

Mike, here's a picture of my ground strap. It looks like you already may have the strap. Not sure why you want to another? It will ground when the cluster is installed.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Feb 17th, 13, 05:36 PM
Mike68RS Mike68RS is offline
Senior Tech

Mike
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Motor City
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Dash cluster ground

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1968RallySport View Post
Mike, here's a picture of my ground strap. It looks like you already may have the strap. Not sure why you want to another? It will ground when the cluster is installed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sauron67MM View Post
That metal strap grounds the whole cluster through contact with the dash and center attachment screw. Are you adding a second ground as insurance?
I guess I'm confused. Yes, I do have that strap already attached and from your help I see how it grounds with the center screw, but in the AIM, there is a seperate ground wire going from the cluster to the pedal assembly. That is what I am trying to add.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Feb 18th, 13, 04:51 PM
oakster oakster is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 255
Default Re: Dash cluster ground

The center screw that grounds that strap often leads to a faulty ground. Doing what Mike suggests is great insurance to make sure you have a good ground. Well worth the effort IMO.
__________________
1967 Camaro RS 350, Tremec 5spd, Hotchkis, Frame off

Bought it November 2003
Rebuilt it 2004
Almost done January 2006
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Feb 19th, 13, 06:27 PM
67RSSS's Avatar
67RSSS 67RSSS is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Chris
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 682
Default Re: Dash cluster ground

I would also recommend the secound ground wire to the firewall! These grounds are famous for causing grief and causing intermitent dash lights. Do it while its apart and add the star washer under the screw head to secure to firewall and never worry again about the dash ground.
__________________
67RSSS Van Nuys ,highly Optioned
383 ci,
AFR 195 heads
TKO 600 Extreme, Centerforce dual friction clutch,12bolt 3:73 gears.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.



Camaros.net - 2009 AutoForums.com