Team Camaro Tech join team camaro

Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro

Auto Insurance

Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Tag Team De-coding tags and numbers.

Old Aug 9th, 06, 04:17 PM

Default What does matching numbers really mean?

Hello, I have never posted on this site before and I am new to the Camaro scene. I'm sure this question has been asked and answered over and over but I want to buy a matching numbers car and need to know what I should be looking for. Do some of the numbers have to match? Do all of the numbers have to match? etc. What do they have to match? Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old Aug 9th, 06, 04:22 PM
Senior Tech

Mike

Default Re: What does matching numbers really mean?

You are going to get many opinions on this question.

But matching numbers it is supposed to mean the car has all the original parts that came on the car when new with the possible exception of a replacement part or two. Most all parts have casting part numbers and date codes on them, thus numbers match what the car is supposed to have if its original.

To many it means a car built from parts of many cars to replicate an original car with parts that would have come on it and not necessarily a original optioned car, such as a clone SS but all the number match a typical SS configuraion.

This is where the arguing always starts. Numbers matching means different things to different people.
1972 El Camino SS350
1973 Chevelle SS350
1977 Monte Carlo
2002 Trans Am WS6
Old Aug 9th, 06, 04:32 PM

What do the numbers have to match? The VIN? Is the VIN number on the cowl tag or somewhere else?
Old Aug 9th, 06, 05:00 PM
Gold Lifetime Member

"Tri-Tip"