point gap for 67 with 327 - Team Camaro Tech
Team Camaro Tech join team camaro
 
Camaro Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Camaro
   

Auto Insurance



Registered users (free) do not see these large ads

Engine General Engine Discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 07:16 AM
Aaron67Coupe Aaron67Coupe is offline
Tech Team

Aaron
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 54
Default point gap for 67 with 327

ok. i have looked around and did a search for this, but i cant seem to find anything that narrows down what the point gap should be for a 67 camaro with a 327 running an edelbrock performer 600 cfm carb. could someone please let me know what to set my gap at. i would really appreciate it!

thanks for everyone's help!
__________________
Numbers Matching, 1967 Coupe (327, Powerglide, Granada Gold, Deluxe Bench Seat Interior)

2009 Camaro Nationals: http://s131.photobucket.com/albums/p...albumview=grid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 07:44 AM
dawg's Avatar
dawg dawg is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Harry
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colebrook CT.
Posts: 3,912
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

im thinking its around.003
but you can get the info from the parts dealer you bought the points from.
__________________
Dawgs 69
406 stroker
us navy retired
http://www.northeastf-bodyassn.com/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 08:22 AM
FRANK ESKRA FRANK ESKRA is offline
-----

 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

Dang,I have not used a dist. with points since 1973. I believe it is .030 and the dwell I cant remember. Engine displacement does not play a factor on these specs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 08:28 AM
Farm Boy's Avatar
Farm Boy Farm Boy is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Steve
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The California Republic
Posts: 1,503
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

Notice that your distributor cap has a window to access the point adjustment screw. The correct way to set the points is with a dwell meter and the engine running. Dwell meters are inexpensive and should be available at your local auto parts store. Set the dwell to 29˚.

If you donít want to use a dwell meter, a .015Ē gap will get you going.
__________________
Steve
1967 Camaro
I drove it for the first time in 1972 when I was 15.
1956 Bel Air Sport Coupe
Better looking than a '56 Ford or Plymouth.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 08:54 AM
Strick Strick is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Strick
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reno NV
Posts: 824
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

Maybe my memory is going, but I remember .019 points, and .035 plug gap.

Actually my '67 still has a 6 cylinder in it. I sat the points to the .019 number. It runs great!
__________________
Strick
'67 'Vert (408" SBC), V-Rod, Street Glide, and too many other motorcycles to list.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 09:44 AM
68Lemans blue 68Lemans blue is offline
Gold Lifetime Member

Jerome
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Renton, Wa.
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

Aaron :Invest in a (multi volt,rpm, dwell gauge )as this is the easiest way and most accurate as with feeler you need to make sure you are on the top center of one of the lobe's of the dist.,if not you can be off 1 or 2 thousand's and that can be 3 to 5 degree's or more set between 28 and 32 deg .Timing set at 8 deg B T D C vacuum pluged ,plugs at .032 to .035 ..S/B good for street driving ,Good luck and Happy Motoring
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 01:32 PM
LukeWarm LukeWarm is offline
Senior Tech

Mark
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 296
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

Ditto what Old baldguy said. Also - replacement points used to come with a small grease capsule that was used to lubricate the plastic block that rides on the distributor cam lobes. Don't forget to put a little lube on the plastic block before installation - it will help maintain an accurate point gap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 01:45 PM
cambird68 cambird68 is offline
Senior Tech

Steve
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kodiak, Alaska
Posts: 166
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

Aaron
I work in Yorktown and have a dwell meter if you want to use mine, I dont mind. I went to HEI and its been on a shelf ever since. What part of hampton Roads?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old Jan 3rd, 07, 06:55 PM
JohnZ JohnZ is offline
Team Member

John
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Washington, Michigan USA
Posts: 7,701
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

And, after you set the dwell, re-check the initial timing and adjust as necessary; dwell affects timing.
__________________
JohnZ
CRG
'69 Z/28 Fathom Green
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old Jan 4th, 07, 06:12 AM
Aaron67Coupe Aaron67Coupe is offline
Tech Team

Aaron
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 54
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

wow guys, i really appreciate all the responses! i got my motor timed up and running smoothe last night! Cambird68, i appreciate the offer to use your dwell meter! looks like i wont be needing it now, at least not for a while. Cambird68, do you know of a good painter in the area? By the way, i live in Newport News. Do you belong to any car clubs in the area? If so, which one?

Again, thank you for all your responses! I really appreciate it!
__________________
Numbers Matching, 1967 Coupe (327, Powerglide, Granada Gold, Deluxe Bench Seat Interior)

2009 Camaro Nationals: http://s131.photobucket.com/albums/p...albumview=grid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old Jan 4th, 07, 01:05 PM
cambird68 cambird68 is offline
Senior Tech

Steve
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kodiak, Alaska
Posts: 166
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

Aaron
I live over in Gloucester near the point and go to the Harley shop all the time. I have the blue 68 Conv. No clubs, may join the one at the court house. A few of the guys have asked me to join and I seem to miss the meetings. Let me know if you want to borrow the Tach and dwell meter. Like I said I dont ever use it anymore. BTW why dont you switch to HEI? If your looking for that stock look, you could use a Pertronix type system and no one would ever question it. If your worried about originalty or point standings, that type of thing can easily be put back on the car without a lot of work. HEI can be somewhat tight on some cars but I got mine to fit without bashing anything in on the firewall.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old Jan 4th, 07, 02:25 PM
Aaron67Coupe Aaron67Coupe is offline
Tech Team

Aaron
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 54
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

i am definately not opposed to HEI. i am just now getting back into the hobby and just got my Camaro on 14 Dec. When i got it the drivetrain was out of it so i spent some time painting the engine compartment and puttting the motor and tranny back in it. i am just getting it running good. HEI will definately be something in the future but the next thing on my list is to get it painted. as you can tell from the picture in my profile, it needs a good paint job. i have heard about the HD shop over in Yorktown and will definately be coming around this summer. do they do the car rallies this time of year? if so, when is the next one, and i just might see you there! definately let me know!

Aaron
__________________
Numbers Matching, 1967 Coupe (327, Powerglide, Granada Gold, Deluxe Bench Seat Interior)

2009 Camaro Nationals: http://s131.photobucket.com/albums/p...albumview=grid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old Jan 4th, 07, 03:42 PM
cambird68 cambird68 is offline
Senior Tech

Steve
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kodiak, Alaska
Posts: 166
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

I have no idea were you could get it painted. I can ask around and post you a PM. The car shows wont start back up untill a couple month from now. I too have my engine out and want it back on the road here soon. I just thought of someone that may be willing to paint your car. I can ask him if you want. Send me a private message so were not taking up this part of the forum.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old Jan 4th, 07, 03:43 PM
pdq67 pdq67 is offline
Banned

 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Columbia, MO USA
Posts: 21,341
Smile Re: point gap for 67 with 327

I was going to say .018" to .020" but it's been years..

And I'm gonna run a point dizzy in my big engine too...

pdq67
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15  
Old Jan 4th, 07, 05:40 PM
fatblock fatblock is offline
Senior Tech

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: detroit
Posts: 2,276
Default Re: point gap for 67 with 327

.016 on the V8.My dad used a dime from his pocket roadside in a pinch once.lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Team Camaro Tech > First Generation Camaro Info and Tech - 1967- 1969 "Where it all started" > Engine      Current Topic: point gap for 67 with 327
Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Team Camaro Tech forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
NOTE we receive a lot of registrations with bad email addresses. IF you do not receive your confirmation email you will not be able to post. contact support and we will try and help.
Be sure you enter a valid email address and check your spam folder as well.

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 327 build r0nin89 Engine 8 Sep 5th, 06 05:58 PM
1st gen 327 build up.. Crankrod Performance 23 Mar 31st, 06 08:37 PM
Engine build help (327) BLADE4444 Engine 4 Nov 15th, 05 09:09 AM
327 OR 350 mbonazzo Tech 2000 10 Apr 12th, 01 03:34 PM
urgent.....350 or 327??? chevyperformance Tech 2000 7 Jul 2nd, 00 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 AM.



Camaros.net - © 2009 AutoForums.com