how much temp diff. with changing from a 170 deg. to 160 deg. therm. - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 22nd, 01, 02:55 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

How much of a temp. diff would there be if i changed over to a 160 degree thermostat? I have a 170 degree unit now along with a 17" flex fan and a short fan spacer and no shroud and a 3 core rad. in front of a 396 in a 68 Camaro. I just changed to a taller spacer and am buying a 19" flex fan. Will the lower temp thermostat make much of a difference?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 22nd, 01, 03:49 AM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage
I'll just reply about the t-stat, with the other changes there's really know way to tell without actually making them because it's all about air flow....

Different temp ratings on t-stats regulate when the fluid in the system is allowed to flow. A 160 will open sooner than a 195. If the fluid temp stays hotter than the t-stat opening temp it won't close and once the t-stat's are open it's all up to the rest of the system as to how hot the engine runs...

Example: Engine temp runs at 200 deg's and you have a 195 t-stat in the system that you change out for a 160. The 160 will open sooner but ultimatly it will never close as the temp will go back to 200 just like with the 195 t-stat.

------------------
...Dennis
'69 RS Convertible w/SS trim
'96 Z28SS #1679 of 2410
"The Club"
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 22nd, 01, 04:19 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Charley

Garage
You need to put a Shroud on...........

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 22nd, 01, 06:34 AM
Senior Tech
Joe

Exclamation

I agree with needing a shroud, but if you do a search you will find my story about the flex fan exploding on my 69 with the same setup you have.
I'd recommend the stock clutch fan setup..

Could save you a LOT of money (and pain?) down the road.

joe