BACKFIRING - COWL INDUCTION - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Jan 14th, 01, 10:08 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

I'm new to this, so please don't laugh. Took my '69 Z11 out for a spin today and the car was backfiring (popping) at lower speeds 35-45 mph as I was cruising . Needless to say, I felt like an idiot. My first inclination was to replace all the plugs and set the timing (points disttributor). I pulled up and hood and checked the plug wires, etc... I did however notice that the valve cover to air cleaner hose was disconnected. Could this have been the problem?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Jan 14th, 01, 11:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Reconnected the hose and it's still backfiring. Fouled plugs or timimg adjustment??
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old Jan 14th, 01, 12:55 PM
Senior Tech

Question

Plugs, wires and distributor cap, that's where I'd start. If that doesn't help, I'd starting looking at the carb. Does it only do it at a certain RPM, or only when accelerating or decelerating? KZ

------------------
John D. Smith
69' SS/396
www.geocities.com/kz1000ltd

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old Jan 14th, 01, 08:23 PM

mine bogs real easy and backfires through carb when trying to accelerate too hard on a cold engine. is this timing (which I thought it was), or should I check my plugs and stuff?
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old Jan 14th, 01, 11:31 PM
Senior Tech