68 SS/RS - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 7th, 00, 07:19 AM Thread Starter
Brian

Question

I have a 68 SS/RS it was said to be a BB car, but I have little knowledge of what to look for. The car is equipped with A/C, i know there is a difference. It has a 5000 redline tach which I beleive is SB. The gas tank was pulled and it isn't known whether the build sheet was there. And the frame mts are for a small block but the former owner was planning to use a SB. Any help would be appreciated

[This message has been edited by Brian VanSickle (edited 07-07-2000).]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 7th, 00, 07:54 AM
Senior Tech

A big block car would have the heater hoses coming out from the middle of the box on the firewall, this was for clearance purposes. Small block cars were alot closer to the exhaust manifolds. Another thing to look for would be the 4 core radiator, and also maybe the front coil spring tags, if they are still intact. I'm almost positive a big block car would also have front disk brakes. Of course, any of these things could have been changed, it's alot easier to prove it wasn't a big block than to prove it was one........Do a search on this site, this topic has been discussed numerous times! Also, post your trim tag in that section and maybe you can get more info! Good luck! KZ http://www.geocities.com/kz1000ltd/
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 7th, 00, 08:31 AM Thread Starter
Brian

Thanks I know what you saying about the blower box, but as i said the car has A/C. And it has all the options you mentioned, but the exaust is not there. And the springs have been replaced

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 7th, 00, 08:44 AM
Senior Tech