Matching #'s? - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 10th, 00, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Question

i am new to the world of camaros, what exactly does the term matching numbers mean, and how much does it affect the value of your car?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 10th, 00, 03:29 PM
Senior Tech
Steve

Garage
Matching numbers can significantly affect the price of a Camaro....especially a performance model.

The definition of matching #'s is a little vague. Some people state that it means that the engine casting, date code, and pad stampings (application, date, and VIN) match the car that the motor is in (ie - that it is the original motor).

I personally believe that matching #'s means that the engine, transmission, and rear end dates and codes all match the car (are all original).

Hope this made some sense.....

------------------
Steve McCorry - Central Ohio Camaro Club
'69 Camaro RS/SS-350 - Daytona Yellow
'95 Camaro Z-28 - Sebring Silver
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 00, 02:55 AM
Senior Tech
Jeff

My interpretation of matching numbers is when the engine code, date code and VIN on the engine/trans/rear match the VIN and date on the car itself. When the engine code & dates match but the VIN isn't on the engine, I would refer to it as a "correct" car. Without the "original VIN matching engine" in a car, it's not matching numbers to me. I realize that Chevrolet often never stamped the VIN onto an engine, and in that case the codes and dates should match the protect-o-plate if it's still with the car. This is my definition of matching numbers. A lot of these classic car dealers will call a car matching numbers if the engine is from the same model and year as what they are trying to sell.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 00, 05:59 AM
Senior Tech

Lightbulb