Holley Accelerator Pump - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 16th, 00, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Chris

Where can I adjust the accelerator pump on my 850 double pumper. I get a little bog off the line when I'm cruising stop light to stop light. Complete Novice when it comes to playing around with carburetors.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 16th, 00, 06:26 PM
David Pozzi

Make shure your distributor has a good advance curve first.
Then check float levels and idle mixture.

Then the base setting for the accelerator pump is to open the throttle all the way and check for .020" added movement of the accelerator pump lever against the screw with the spring on it. You don't want the lever to bottom out before the throttle is all the way open. If it bottoms out, it will start compressing the spring. If you have any clearance between spring and lever when at idle, the accelerator pump will not begin to squirt fuel soon enough.
Adjust the screw if it's off.

In tuning it you can change two things:
volume and duration.
If you increase the squirter nozzle size giving more fuel sooner, the pump will reach the end of it's stroke sooner.
So you need to determine exactly when you are having the problem.
If it bogs right off idle, go bigger on the squirter size.
If it goes a while and then bogs, it may actually need a smaller jet to increase the duration.
There are different plastic cams too but I have not fooled with them.

I really need to emphasize that you need the ignition and basic carb adjustments sorted out first, with good plugs, wires, etc.
Then you can start tinkering with the accelerator pump system.