Camaro roof panel, unibody info needed - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Nov 25th, 99, 02:37 AM Thread Starter

Nice forum! I'm a newbie here. I currently am starting a resto on a '69 sport coupe. The car had a vinyl roof, and when I tore it off, there were HOLES everywhere. The largest one you can stick your finger in. What angle of attack do you recommend? Should I attempt to patch the worse areas with sheet metal, or can I just peel off the outer sheet metal, and TRY to find a replacement?

The guy who had it before me treated it to a telephone pole, so I need to get a new subframe. The passenger side floor buckled slightly, but I plan on replacing the floors anyway.
Another quick question...it pushed back the frame boss under the seat brace about 2 inches. Will a frame straightener be able to save it? I heard that laser straighteners do wonderful things.

Do you think I will have sheet-metal alignment problems afterward, or is a laser-straightener very accurate?

Thanks in advance, and Happy Thanksgiving. I will check back soon for a response.

Kind Regards, Manson (no relation to you-know-who)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Nov 26th, 99, 01:17 PM
Tech Team