powertrax rear end - function like a locker or like a posi? - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Dec 5th, 00, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

i was wondering if any of you had any experience with the powertrax no-slip diff that was showcased in the december 2000 (pp76,77) issue of car craft. anyone heard any reports about these things? they look like a pretty good deal, considering the SEMA award in the top left hand corner of the page. how do they function? are they smooth? how much do they cost? let me know guys. thanks.

john
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old Dec 6th, 00, 01:02 AM
Senior Tech
Freddie

I've been running a Power Tracks Lock Right in my truck for 3 years and it works like a locker.I haven't used the new no slip yet so I don't know how it works.

------------------
'69 RS/SS396 pro street
427/4spd/9"
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old Dec 6th, 00, 02:21 AM
Senior Tech

Same as big gear head. I have the lock rights front and rear in my truck for years and they act like lockers rather than a posi. Don't know about the new ones

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old Dec 6th, 00, 02:52 AM
Senior Tech

Can you hear them, or are they quite like a posi?

------------------
------------------
Mark

1992 Firebird 355/Six Speed (Soon to be LT1)
1991 RS 350 / 700-R4
1987 Toyota Pickup 383 / 500 + HP 10.963 @ 119.95 Slicks / 11.997 @ 114.23 Radials
"Speed KILLS, so drive a FORD and live forever!"
http://personal.lig.bellsouth.net/~racer383/
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old Dec 6th, 00, 09:07 AM

Thumbs up

The Lock-Rites are GREAT for 4 wheeling, never used em in a car. But they work like this. The axle with the traction advantage gets the power. (as opposed to an open diff where the axle with the traction freewheels)