Fender removal to get at the heater core - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old May 7th, 01, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Question

- I'm trying to replace the heater core in my '69 sb no a/c. (I posted help yesterday & got very prompt results!)
-In order to get at a few nuts holding it on,(those of you that have done it, know what I mean) I need to remove the front passenger fender.
-I don't want to screw this up, (I've never done it before) so please let me know what EXACTLY I should be doing.
-Is it as simple as taking out the obvious 1/2 inch bolts around the fender and wheel well???

- I really appreciate the help fellas, you've all been great!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old May 7th, 01, 02:26 PM
Senior Tech

Monte,

I posted a response yesterday and suggested you do a search on this often talked about topic. There is a lot of info on this site.

To get you started:
Drain the coolant. Better yet, put in a coupling between the return and supply hoses, so that you can still run the motor. I got a plastic fitting from the hardware store when I did mine.

Remove the hood.
Remove the grill and front bumper.
Detached the bolts connecting the header panel, lower valance, and headlight assembly.
Unbolt the radiator core support.
Unbolt the fender extension and inner fender skirt.
Remove the rocker panel moulding, if present.
Unbolt the fender from the cowl and under the fender. Put masking tape on the edges of the fender, so you don't ding them upon re-assembly.

These are the major steps. Take your time. Don't rush it.

Replace the blower motor while your at it if its old. You don't want to do this again in October when the old fan squeaks.
Have someone help you remove the fender.
Take pictures along the way, so that you know how things came apart. Put bolts, etc. in ziplock bags and label the bags.