Re: sand/media blaster - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old Dec 15th, 00, 12:01 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Question

I have to do some body work on a camaro I recently purchased. I am a novice at body work. I want to purchase a media/Sand blaster. I already have a air compressor. What I need to know is who makes a good media/sand blaster. I think I need one that can shoot both media (small plastic balls) and sand. I have been told the sand is better for rust and the media is better for removing paint. How much should I expect to pay for this device cost? How much for the media and sand?

Like I said I am a novice and really have no idea what what I need. Any help would be greatly apprechated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old Dec 15th, 00, 02:38 PM
David Pozzi

Bill,
Sand blasting takes a LOT of air.
The common 2 to 5 hp air compressor does not have enough volume of air to keep up with most sand blast guns of the siphon type.

There are pressure sand blasters that have a pressurised tank filled with sand that use less air. It is controlled by a "deadman" type valve that uncovers the nozzle from the outside using a rubber block.

Sand blasting will bend and warp panels if they are thin or flat or even pretty strong panels if a lot of pressure is used.

Plastic media and soda are used but get duller each time they go through the gun.
You need some way to contain the sand, or media, to re use it, and it will have paint with lead in it so it's a hazard and probably regulated by your local health agency.
So if you contaminate soil with it you could have an expensive clean up problem.

I know for having media blasting done here in California, it only pays if you have a lot of paint layers on the car to remove, or corrosion problems. Otherwise for plain flat panels just get some paint stripper and scrape the paint off.