hood louvers -- bad castings - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Dec 16th, 00, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Just received a set of the 68/69 4-stack repro hood louvers, but one of the corner studs on BOTH louvers was broken. One of the stacks had pronounced shrinkage just above the stud. I noticed the broken studs as I took them out of the packaging. Looks like a serious design flaw. Even if I had a replacement set, I wouldn't feel confident that they would last long considering the vibration, torque and tension these studs have to endure.

Just wondered if anyone had the same problem. Is there more than one manufacturer of this part?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Dec 17th, 00, 02:03 AM
Senior Tech

Dan,

I have no experience with inserts you are talking about but I found the terminology used ("shrinkage")to be coming from someone that either worked in the foundry business or has had some association with fondries other than through being a car enthusiast. Most people (and they wouldn't be totally wrong) would have described "voids" or "porosity" but rare is the person that calls it "shrinkage". I used to be a foundry engineer/QA Manager about 10 years ago making castings for the Aerospace industry and "shrinkage" was my enemy.

Sorry to gobble up space on your posting with such trivial B.S. but it just struck me as.....

Robert Stacho (A.K.A. Mytmouse)

------------------
67 SS 396 Chevelle 350HP 4speed
70 SS 396 Chevelle 350HP 4speed
68 RS Z/28 302 350+HP? 4speed
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old Dec 17th, 00, 05:44 AM
Gold Lifetime Member

Garage