switching to floor shifter. need help - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 01, 04:38 PM Thread Starter

i'm relatively new to camaro's, although i have worked on vettes. i have a 67' camaro w/ a powerglide and a column shifter. i want to know the name of the peice i should be putting in place of the column shift on the column when i replace it w/ a floor shifter. i want to know what to be looking for when i search through my parts magazines, they can be really misleading. also, is it possible to hook up a tach to a powerglide w/ no tach currently. i like working on enigines w/ a tach, the vettes i've worked on had them, and its really nice to have when tuning a carb. i do plan on putting a 327 or 350 into my camaro so i'm basically setting it up for the engine swap. when changing engines, should i be changing out the powerglide for a 350hydro or 700-R4, or stick w/ the powerglide. i dont plan on racing the car, but i do like the real of a 327 or 350 when i'm driving. thanks for the assistance in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 01, 05:04 PM
Tech Team

Can't help much on the column/floor shift conversion, other than it might be worth your while to find a used non-column shift steering column.

The tach has nothing whatever to do with the tranny...this is distributor run, and should be a relatively simple problem to solve.

------------------
1976 Type LT Restification (in progress)

1968 2 door sport coupe...the toy!

1971 Camaro RS, all original, 1 owner...wife's baby!

The Monday Nite Car Club! (New site)
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Jul 16th, 01, 05:02 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Ruffin

Send a message via Yahoo to Ruffin