69 Stripe, hood, combo questions - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2000 Our previous General Forum
Replies ONLY - no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old May 4th, 00, 05:11 PM Thread Starter

What combinations of hoods, and stripes were available in 1969? For example, on an SS, with the big stipes on the hood and trunk - with a cowl hood original? Or were the "hockey puck" stipes only original on the SS's and the "big stripes/bandaids" only available on z-28's?

And since I am new to the Camaro world, are the Z28's more preferred than the SS's? From reading various posts I get the impression that alot of folks want Z's, not sure if this is "basically" true or not.

Thanks for your input and opinions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old May 5th, 00, 03:21 AM
Senior Tech

z/28 was the only car that had the two big stripes running down the hood and the trunk.
ss had the d90 sport striping often refered to as the hockey stick stripes running on the sides of the car from the base of the front bumper up through the engine # and along the top of the front fender to the door handle (see my car for an example, but it should have a gap where the 396 motor #'s are).
if a rs was a non ss or z/28 it had the d96 fender striping which were thin pinstyle stripes running on the side from the front of each wheel well (front and back) along the top of the wheel wells going straight out a few feet past the wheel opening.
you could also get the dx1 front accent striping that sort of looked like a bumble bee stripe on the front running from the sides to the hood, but instead of being one stripe, it stopped before meeting in the middle and ran down each side of the ridge in the hood stopping at about the back of the hood.
the z/28 stripes are by far the most popular these days and you see them on ss and regular cars plus all the clones.