Dailydriver/road tripper "Big Bumper" project - Team Camaro Tech
Build Projects follow along start to finish

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Sep 27th, 13, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
Bruce

Dailydriver/road tripper "Big Bumper" project

Howdy from Florida. A glance at all of the posts in this sub-forum have me a little uncertain about wading in with my not-so-cool 1975 base model. Most everybody's working on 1st Gen projects with a handful of steel bumper 2nd Gens mixed in, and almost all of them are big-buck projects.

Presenting something a little different.

I'm a disabled veteran and wheelchair user, and drive using a hand control. I plan to document a lo-buck project just to see what interest it generates. I've been around the restoration block a couple of times, which includes my 19-year ownership of a 1967 Mustang convertible (with numerous mods and upgrades). It's about at its pinnacle, having won a gold medal at a Mustang Club of America national show in July 2013.

Last week I purchased a 1975 Camaro base model, equipped with a/c (missing the underhood components) in surprisingly solid condition. The odometer reads 10994, and based on the remarkably clean undercarriage, I'm fairly certain--although not positive--that the actual mileage is about 111,000. In other words, low for a 38-year-old car. The car was delivered straight to a restoration shop here in the Florida panhandle, and work will get underway in a couple of weeks.

The paint is new (according to the seller) and looks it, although the quality is only so-so. Decent driver quality would be a fair grade.

The panel fit is pretty good, and includes a nice aftermarket steel hood with a Z-28 style scoop. The doors do not sag. The glass is all in good condition and there appear to be no leaks--not even into the trunk.