69 x-55 ss project - Team Camaro Tech
Build Projects follow along start to finish

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 61 (permalink) Old May 28th, 14, 08:49 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Floyd

69 x-55 ss project

Well here it goes. I have officially start to refurbish a 1969 X-55 that I have had for a couple of years now. This will be my first run at a full resto. I have built a jig (from pictures and build instructions off of this sight, thanks for that info). It is a basket case, but a promise to a friend who has since passed away has put me on this path. I will post pictures when I figure out how to. I have 2 1969 RS/SS 396 cars as samples to help. Sorry this is so long but I am new to this and will have alot of questions from all of you guru's.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 61 (permalink) Old May 29th, 14, 03:43 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Floyd

Re: 69 x-55 ss project

post #3 of 61 (permalink) Old May 29th, 14, 03:46 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Floyd

Okay figured out how to get pictures up. iI will post the pictures of the things (many) that need to be replaced.

post #4 of 61 (permalink) Old May 29th, 14, 04:04 AM
Senior Tech
Tim

Floyd, looks like you've made a great start on another stablemate to that fantastic pair of big blocks
Can see a bit of rust on the upper dash top, but the car looks solid; or is there rust lurking elsewhere?

1969 04A Van Nuys-built Z/28. Cortez Silver with dark blue interior and VE3. Sold Clippinger Chevrolet. Raced at Lions in LA.
post #5 of 61 (permalink) Old May 29th, 14, 04:41 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Floyd

I would not say it is lurking, it has consumed is more accurate. This will test my patients I am sure. It will be long and I hope fun. I will post pictures of all the rust damage, hopefully today.
post #6 of 61 (permalink) Old May 29th, 14, 05:04 AM
Senior Tech
Brian

Welcome to the site, Floyd. Looks like you've got some nice cars there.